Walking in Repentance and Faith

Posted on behalf of Harry Goodhew

1 John 1:8-10

The passage set for today’s meditation forms part of a line of John’s thought that runs from 1:5 to 2:1, appropriately labelled by one writer as “Walking in the Light”.

Yesterday, Peter considered the statement that “God is light” and that to live in a way that reflects darkness rather than light is to betray the truth. On the other hand, walking in the light brings John’s readers into fellowship with him and his churches and into the purification that comes through the death of Jesus.

Our three verses carry John’s thoughts about comments probably made by those to whom he is writing. Perhaps they were maintaining that they were not walking in the darkness and therefore were not sinning. John’s word to them was that it was in the humble and penitent acknowledgement of wrongdoing that they would find forgiveness and purification.

The sharp details of the differences between John and those to whom he wrote are not laid out in detail for us but the fundamental and abiding truth is plain: God forgives sin when we acknowledge it before him. Such is his character, faithful to his own nature and promises and consequently just in all his actions.

These three verses are given creedal expression in the words we recite in both the Apostle’s and Nicene Creeds: “I believe in … the forgiveness of sins”, “I acknowledge on baptism for the remission of sins”

As we look up into the face of our heavenly Father, acknowledging our sin and sins and seeking his pardon and renewal, we can hear him say “you are forgiven, see my Son, he paid the price of your pardon: you are free”.

How wonderful to hear that verdict on the day when “that Face which is the delight or terror of the universe must be turned upon each of us either with one expression of the other, either conferring glory inexpressible or inflicting shame that can never be cured or disguised”

Proverbs 20

As noted before, “The book of Proverbs is a collection of Israelite wisdom sayings of various kinds put together with little obvious order”. Such is Chapter 20.

Each 30 verses is worthy of thoughtful and prayerful and consideration. I understand that it was Billy Graham’s practice to read a chapter of Proverbs each day. However because of space I have chosen to consider just one verse: verse 24 as it is translated in the NIV.

A man’s steps are from the Lord;
how then can man understand his way?

You should read Proverbs 16:9 in conjunction with verse 24.

Verse 24 is a statement designed to elicit trust. It calls for trust when life seems a mystery and you and I cannot understand what God is doing. Such was Job’s situation. So it was too with Joseph, first in a pit and then in a prison, but finally riding in the second chariot behind the all-powerful Pharaoh.

Nothing here detracts from our need to pray and act obediently in all the affairs of life. What it does do is call us to trust God at all times.

This is a “heart pill” verse. Pop it under your spiritual tongue and let it do its work. Hold it in your mind, repeat it regularly to yourself and trust God in loving obedience.

3 thoughts on “Walking in Repentance and Faith

  1. I takes a while to ponder your comment, as while I read it I wondered about the fact that we must acknowledge our sin to God but, shouldn’t we also repent i.e.change as well? I find this change an ongoing cure, for which I must take lots of spiritual medicine. I am so blest and happy that God loves me so much as to be patient beyond understanding, and so unchanging. Oh! how could I live without Him in my life. thank you Sue

  2. Repentance for the christian is a lifestyle. It is not just a “one off”, when we first come to Jesus as our Saviour. Even though at that moment i was forgiven for ALL my sin, past, present and future my walk with God will involve coming to Him over and over again as He shows me my carnal self that He wants me to crucify, so I can become more like Christ in mind and in deed. Its a life long process my sanctification.
    If a child of mine does something wrong he/she is still my son/daughter but the “sin” has come in between our relationship. He/she is not kicked out of the family but until he/she acknowledges the sin and asks to be forgiven the relationship is not the same. There is a distance.
    Imagine if we as a whole church lived this way. Walking in such an awareness of God and as soon as we “stuff up” we ask for His help in overcoming that ungodly behaviour. The Holy Spirit is there to help, our role is to not be willing to put up with anything that dishonors Jesus. Not to fall into the trap of thinking, “that’s just how i am”. Unless I come to hate the sin and understand that it hurts my Father and grieves the Holy Spirit i will not want to change.

Comments are closed.