The Humanity of Jesus

No sooner had Jesus been baptised than temptation began.

Whilst it is clear that Luke considers Jesus to be the Messiah, Saviour and Lord (Luke 2:11), he also draws out Jesus’ humanity. We indeed have a Messiah, Saviour and Lord who can relate to our human condition. We feel the draw to sin that Jesus experienced in Luke 4:1-13.

The devil knows how to probe us. Consider the devil’s probing question of Adam and Eve: “Did God really say…” (Gen 3:1). We find ourselves tempted to defend God based on the apparent reality presented by the Devil. Where Adam and Eve failed, Jesus succeeded.

1. Accusation: “If you are the Son of God…” (Luke 4:3)

But Jesus doesn’t need to prove himself by the devil’s standards, rather he does it by God’s standards: “It is written…” (4:4). The bible is God’s standard

2. Temptation: “If you worship me it will all be yours” (4:7)

Again Jesus uses God’s standards “It is written…” and is not drawn into the devils plot

3. Reinterpretation: “For it is written…” (4:10)

The devil gets the hint and starts to use scripture as a weapon against Jesus. Again Jesus is not drawn in and correctly applies scripture to the situation. “It [scripture] says…”

Oh to have the mind of Christ and see through the devils schemes. For me this brief episode of Jesus temptation gives me eyes to see how the devil works. My defense for his schemes is not my own strength or power, but the bible. I need to be careful to react not with my own logic but simply with the words of scripture.

Lord teach me your ways, help me to delight in your word, may my mind be soaked in your scripture, and the Holy Spirit present to point me toward you, no matter what the devil tempts me with.

2 thoughts on “The Humanity of Jesus

  1. The following has always bothered me. “I will give you all their authority and splendour; it has been given to me, and I can give it to anyone I want to. 7 If you worship me, it will all be yours.”As Satan is “the prince of this world” I assume he is not lying when he claims to be able to give Jesus these things.Of course he is also a liar at heart so maybe he is talking himself up a bit??? Also who gave it to him in the first place. I suppose God allowed it as a consequence from the fall?? Sorry for the questions but chime in with ur thoughts.

  2. While we may battle daily with the devil, I believe as Paul says ‘ ….. that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord. (Romans 8:38-39). In the end God is going to be the winner, but I pray for all those Christians in Africa and the Middle East currently facing mass persecution at the hands of Muslim fundamentalists. May they know God’s love and feel His presence in such dangerous times.

Comments are closed.