A New Plan – Free!

Today’s reading is Psalm 4

It’s time for a new plan – fully mobile, a direct line, available anywhere in the world, no time limits, no expiry date and free!  That’s unbelievable!  (I can hear the tele-marketer’s voice, “But wait, there’s more!)   All we need is the drive and passion to take advantage of this great offer.  Prayer is an amazing free gift. 

I read that the prophet Isaiah spoke with sorrow about the lack of passion in the people of Israel: 64:7 And there is no one who calls on Your name, who stirs himself up to take hold of You.  Is that how we are today?  Do we, in all our busy-ness only give prayer a token effort?  We know God cares deeply for all of His creation.  Do we?

In this psalm, once again, we see how David prays with such passion!  We hear David calling out to God in anguish.  His name has been slandered by his peers.  He is deeply troubled and wanting God to hear him and act.  I love reading David’s confidence that he is talking to his personal God who has already answered many of his prayers.  David knows he is special to God and is being heard.  Verse 3: Know that the Lord has set apart his faithful servant for himself; the Lord hears when I call to him.  Such confidence!  Such expectation!  The words almost sound like a threat to David’s enemies, he is so confident of God’s power and love for him.

The words in verse 3 Know that the Lord has set apart his faithful servant for himself make me stop and ponder.  I have possessions which I set have apart over the years.  Sometimes it was a special gift or even a tasty morsel.  Also, I have had an extra special object kept in mint condition with (somewhat) regular loving polishing and dusting, or another valuable item carefully stored for the occasional important tasks. I am being reminded that I have been set apart by God for Himself!  What an honour and a privilege to be in that position.

How do I honour and appreciate that love for me each day?  I don’t always feel like I am a special gift, but I know my actions can be a gift to people around me.  I am definitely not in mint condition, but by reading God’s word and praying daily at least I have a chance of keeping my mind clear and focused on wholesome words.  I don’t want to be stored away though for only some “important” tasks.  I can use my gifts and talents for God at home, or choose to go out to interact with others each day and be an encouragement to them.

Jesus said in Matthew 5 that I am not to be hidden away and carefully stored.  He says,You are the light of the world. A town built on a hill cannot be hidden.  Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house.  In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.

As we start this new year together at FAC, I pray that we will be keen to take up and utilise this free communication plan.  We can have confidence that the line will be always open, never busy.  May we have the passion and desire to pray for our relationship with Jesus, for each other and for ourselves.  What a blessing that will be, what peace it will bring to us and those around us.  As David finishes in verse 8 In peace I will lie down and sleep, for you alone, Lord, make me dwell in safety.

Sign me up now!

Iris

2 thoughts on “A New Plan – Free!

  1. Thanks Iris. There are real gems of wisdom in this Psalm that we can put into practice. Vs4 ‘Don’t sin in your anger. When you are resting on your bed search your hearts and minds’ and in vs 8 -I can lie down and sleep in peace ,knowing I am safe and not being anxious about anything’

Comments are closed.