How to miss the cake bowl!

I think we’ve all been in that situation where we have been tricked by human words. Sometimes it’s the tragedy of a promise that’s been broken that leaves trust shattered. Other times it’s a simple joke that has caught us out and made for some fun amongst friends.  There’s the times we misread or mishear something with all the consequences that go along with that. And, there’s also times when we make assumptions about words that turn out to our detriment.

For me, the classic was when i was a young boy and my Mum had made a cake. I was outside sulking because I’d done something bad (and probably perceived I had been dealt the world’s worst injustice). My Mum called out to me. Hearing her words, I stayed quiet. I thought her words were the start of more trouble. She called my name again. I ignored her words, and ignored her. Some time later when I thought it was safe to venture back inside, mum caught me and in a gentle tone said something like “Ron, where have you been? I made a cake and thought you’d like to lick the bowl.” Looking around quickly, I discovered the opportunity had passed. The bowl had been washed up. My heart sank – if only I had responded differently when I heard my Mum’s words!

Can you imagine hearing the word of God and not responding? Can you envision the tragedy that happens every day as people treat God’s words as human words. They miss out not only on licking the bowl, but on the multitude of blessings that come from knowing God and living with him.

Hence, Paul is filled will thanks for those in Thessalonica

because, when you received the word of God, which you heard from us, you accepted it not as a human word, but as it actually is, the word of God, which is indeed at work in you who believe. (1 Thess 2:13)

What about you and I? How do we engage with the word of God – especially the hard things!! Do we receive his word with joy – as the very word of God – which brings life, hope and purpose? Or do we resist it… receiving it instead as “an idea”, or “opinion”… receiving his word with the same value as a human word? Sometimes we resist God’s word because we think we know better. We forget the truth of 1 Corinthians 1:25
For the foolishness of God is wiser than human wisdom, and the weakness of God is stronger than human strength.
Let’s strive to be be known as a people like those in Thessalonica accepting the word of God as it actually is, the word of God, which is indeed at work in you who believe. And in so doing, let’s not miss out on the many bowls our loving heavenly father wants us to lick (Luke 12:6-7)
2 thoughts on “How to miss the cake bowl!

  1. Thanks Ron. I think that sometimes we can focus too much on the person teaching us Gods Word rather than understanding that it is God Himself speaking through a person to deliver His Truth. Unfortunately Churches are full of people who sit under Gods Word week after week but it never changes them. This is also why prayer before Gods Word is taught is so important. That we can ask for God to open our hearts to receive from Him what He wants each person to apply in their own walk. To ask that the Holy Spirit would make the Bible alive to the listeners and also to the one delivering the message.The Holy Spirit is the One who opens the heart of the listeners so they can hear with understanding and gives the desire to apply Gods Word to our lives.
    Holy Spirit come……..

Comments are closed.