Reality

1 Thessalonians 2:15 – 16 (Didn’t cover this passage below, but what hit me was the gravity of what the Jews were doing.  They were trying to stop the Gentiles from being saved.  That is full on.)

Luke 12:13 – 21

The reality of eternity. Do we believe it? Do I live in light of the fact that for all time, I will be in sweet, unfiltered fellowship with and worship of our God?  Does my week reflect this truth?

The reality is that we have been shifted from death to life (Ephesians 2:1-2), darkness to light (John 8:12), slavery to sonship (Romans 8:15-17).  We have a new heart and new desires (Ezekiel 11:19, Romans 12:2).  We have the Holy Spirit, who is God, residing within us who then sanctifies us, strengthens us, convicts us, empowers us and leads us (John 3:8, 14:13-21, 16:5-15, Acts 2, 2 Corinthians 3:18).   Our citizenship is in heaven, and we eagerly await a Saviour from there (Philippians 3:20).

That is the reality of our lives.  Therefore, let us live a life worthy of the calling we have received.

This is why Jesus says, ‘Watch out! Be on your guard against all kinds of greed; a man’s life does not consist in the abundance of his possessions.’ Christ did not suffer the cross and God’s wrath so that I could store up possessions.   If I am not instead rich toward God, He will call me a fool (Luke 12:13-21).

Lord, let us not be fools.  Let me not be a fool.

What does it look like to be rich toward God?  I think it is to live a life worthy of the calling we have received.  It means loving and desiring fellowship with God so much that we will sell everything to buy the field (Matthew 14:44). It means denying ourselves, taking up our cross and following Christ (Mark 8:34).  It means considering everything else a loss compared to the surpassing greatness of knowing Jesus Christ our Lord (Philippians 3:8).  It means imploring the world on Christ’s behalf to be reconciled to God! (2 Corinthians 5:20).

That is the place from which I want to enter my workplace.  I have to, because I currently find myself getting greedy.  I wouldn’t mind more money; it would just be a bit more comfortable.  I could go on another holiday. I could buy a decent car. I could live in a nicer place. I could get some more clothes. More video games. More books. More devices. More. More. More.  Jesus says ‘WATCH OUT!’  That is not what our life here is about.

The reality is that our 80 years here are less than a grain of sand compared to the billions and billions of years we will have united with Christ in heaven.  It is more than unwise to build barn after barn before Christ’s return, it is just stupid.

We were not called to be fools, but to be rich towards our beautiful, living and true God.  So I pray God that through your Spirit, show us and make us know in the very depths of our heart the true reality of this life as described by your word.  Lord, let us not be fools.

Shaun Robinson

7 thoughts on “Reality

  1. Thanks Shaun. A great reminder to live our lives with a view to the eternal. Such a perspective changes our priorities.

Comments are closed.