Rejoice

Several years ago there was a TV series called LOST about a plane load of passengers who crash on some mysterious island. I can’t really say I was a fan of the show or even watched many episodes, I know the show waffled on for a few seasons and I am not even sure if they were ever rescued. Actually what caught my attention more was the image of the shows titles. The word LOST emblazoned in large letters with images of the cast members standing in front.

Lost

Lost

To my thinking the title didn’t represent the TV show – more the state of people around me.

In Luke 15 Jesus recounts three parables – about a lost sheep, lost coin and a lost son.

It is a text I personally will always remember and hold dear as it was the passage that Geoff Thompson and some other members of the team that went to Spreydon (Christchurch) shared with their Tuesday Christian Fellowship – a weekly gathering for those who have special needs through health, intellectual, physical and social issues. The excited reaction of these special people to Geoff’s drawings, Lisa’s drama and Yvonne Gunnings’ puppetry was just so refreshing and invigorating.

These are exciting stories – the words that leap off the page at me are located in verse 6 and repeated in verse 9 “Rejoice with me; I have found my lost…” and the final words from verses 23 and 24 “celebrate“.

7 I tell you that in the same way there will be more rejoicing in heaven over one sinner who repents than over ninety-nine righteous persons who do not need to repent.

10 In the same way, I tell you, there is rejoicing in the presence of the angels of God over one sinner who repents.”

The partying doesn’t have to be just in heaven – we have an open invitation to join in with the celebrations.

Have we, as we go on in our Christian lives lost touch with that celebration? Seeing first-hand the lost come to faith in Christ and the change it brings in their lives.

There is no more inspiring message I receive than getting an email from my dear brother, Thayil John sharing about another international student who has prayed a prayer to receive Christ through the ministry of the Keiraview International Church or seeing the excitement expressed by our youth when they return from Ignite camp and they share the exuberance of their encounter with Christ.

Faithful Daily Readers let us never find ourselves too far from that celebration. Jesus bids us “Rejoice with me”. If you haven’t been to a party in  a while, find ministries to rejoice in – either through direct involvement or prayer support – we can all play a part and our faith will be the better for it.

Glenn

One thought on “Rejoice

Comments are closed.