A vast disparity

Genesis 15:1-6

2 Timothy 1:1-7

I always find it challenging when I hear incredible stories of faith, where someone is completely sold out and surrendered to God.  And then God comes through in a big way and powerful things happen.  Abraham is one of those stories.  v6 Because Abram believed, righteousness was credited to him.  Romans 4:18-22 elaborates a bit more;

‘Against all hope, Abraham in hope believed and so became the father of many nations, just as it had been said to him, “So shall your offspring be.” Without weakening in his faith, he faced the fact that his body was as good as dead—since he was about a hundred years old—and that Sarah’s womb was also dead. Yet he did not waver through unbelief regarding the promise of God, but was strengthened in his faith and gave glory to God, being fully persuaded that God had power to do what he had promised. This is why “it was credited to him as righteousness.”’

Abram saw the vast disparity between what he and Sarah were capable of and what God had promised, and so in faith believed that God would overcome it.  Abram was fully persuaded that God would fulfil His promise. 

This challenges me to walk in faith a whole heap more.  I need to be fully persuaded that God will fulfil His promise.  To be honest, I want my life to be one of those incredible stories of faith.  Where I will be completely surrendered to Christ, following him with everything I have each day and unashamedly earnestly pleading with the world to be reconciled to Christ.  (I am not sure if this comes from a place of pride and ego, I dont think so, and I am not sure how this slots in with 1 Thess 4-11-12.)  But my everyday life is so far from that place of walking in faith completely surrendered.  

But, we are called to see the disparity between what God has called us to do in this world and what I am capable off, and so respond in faith that God will bring the good work He has started to completion.  I do not fill the disparity myself, the Spirit does.  ‘For the Spirit God gave us does not make us timid, but gives us power, love and self-discipline’ (2 TIm 1:7).  

Lord, let us be a people that bring our inadequacies before you that you may empower us through your Spirit. Let us, let me, be walking in unwavering faith each day, that you will grow your kingdom powerfully though us.

Shaun Robinson

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “A vast disparity

  1. Thank you Shaun, my prayer is the same, unwavering faith is the greatest thing we have.

  2. Thanks Shaun. Even when the worst and unimaginable things happen to us in life, faith in Jesus will get us through and give us peace. Sometimes a catastrophe in life will test how strong our faith is. In 1 Peter 15:7 (New International Version) we read “Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.” Surrender to him and life can become an adventure. We never know where God will lead us.

  3. Thanks Shaun for your encouraging comment from these challenging passages

Comments are closed.