Happy Mothers’ Day

My little boy took a tumble this week and earned himself a spectacular black eye for his effort. As a mother, I needed to cuddle and comfort him as he cried as much as he needed to be comforted by me. As much as I hate to see him upset, I love it when he comes to me for comfort. When I hold out my arms and he throws himself at me. He is my precious child, and when he is hurt or scared, he wants the comfort of his Mummy.

As I read Psalm 20, today on Mothers’ Day, I can’t help but picture God in this same way. God who wants us, his precious children, to turn to him in our distress. Our God who holds out his arms and longs for us to throw ourselves into them. The comfort that he offers is deep, it’s strong and it’s eternal.

“Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.” (1 Peter 5:7)

Our Comforter spoke to the Israelites in their distress, “As a mother comforts her child, so I will comfort you” (Isaiah 66:13).

So this Mothers’ Day as we celebrate, thank and remember the mothers in our lives, let us also celebrate, thank and remember our God who comforts us when we turn to him. Read Psalm 20 and know that while “some trust in chariots and some in horses, … we trust in the name of the LORD our God”.

Shelley

