Dynasties of Faith

Our readings today are 1 Kings 2 and Heb 11:1-40.

In 1 Kings 2 we read David’s final advice to Solomon as he passes on his reign. I love his recognition of the hard reality of the transience of life “I am about to go the way of all the earth“. His death-bed advice shows us the character of Israel’s great king who was described as a man after God’s own heart. Preparing to die, he passes on the most important thing in his life to his son. “So be strong, act like a man, and observe what the Lord your God requires: walk in obedience to him, and keep his decrees and commands, his laws and regulations, as written in the Law of Moses. Do this so that you may prosper in all you do and wherever you go“.

David is not just handing down his crown, but his faith. The rest of the chapter goes on with David’s specific advice to Solomon and the carrying out of that advice. We should read even the details of the way Solomon sentenced his enemies to death while establishing his kingdom, in the context of David’s desire for Solomon to walk in obedience to God, in faith.

In Hebrews 11 we read a wonderful account of the heroes of the old testament and how the deeds they were notable for were all done by faith. One of the key take aways from this passage is that while we often think about salvation by faith as something ushered in by Jesus’ coming and atoning sacrifice, God always saved his people by faith. The Hebrews 11 account of this dynasty of faith reminds us that each one was looking forward to what was promised v13:

All these people were still living by faith when they died. They did not receive the things promised; they only saw them and welcomed them from a distance, admitting that they were foreigners and strangers on earth.

and vv 39 and 40:

These were all commended for their faith, yet none of them received what had been promised, since God had planned something better for us so that only together with us would they be made perfect.

The entire chapter has been heading towards this, as an expansion of the definition of faith in v1. Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see. It follow’s on from chapter ten’s exhortation to persevere in faith, and is capped by the start of Chapter 12 with encouragement to run with perseverance fixing our eyes on the author and perfecter of our faith, Jesus.

As I read these two passages, I am struck again by the idea of dynasties of faith. I am reminded that there is nothing more important I can pass on to my children than my faith. I am prompted again to pray that my children and children’s children will know and love the Lord and serve Him in faith.

Moreover, I need to persevere in running the race, sure of what I hope for and certain of what I do not see so that when I am about to go the way of all the earth my advice to keep your eyes fixed on Jesus will ring true as having been the most important thing in my life.

Finally, allow me to share with you the lyrics to a song I wrote about a decade ago about how this living by faith should transform us

Transformed

Now Faith is being sure of what we hope for,
And certain of things we don’t see,
By faith we understand God commanded
And the universe came to be

By faith He has justified us,
And we’re living in peace with God
His spirit now lives inside us
and into our hearts He poured love

so we could be…
Transformed! in His likeness
Informed – of His grace by His Word
Reformed of the old ways, living the new
Living Like he wants us to.

Let us throw off all that hinders
And the sin that would slow our pace
Keep on running with perseverance
Keep on running to finnish the race

Let us fix our eyes on Jesus
The author and perfecter of our faith
Who for the joy set before him
Endured the cross, scorned its shame

so we could be…
Transformed! in His likeness
Informed – of His grace by His Word
Reformed of the old ways, living the new
Living Like he wants us to.

For I have been crucified with Christ
and I no longer live
but Jesus Christ lives in me
and the life I live I live by faith
I live by faith in the Son of God
who loved me and gave himself for me

Transformed! in His likeness
Informed – of His grace by His Word
Reformed of the old ways, living the new
Living Like he wants us to.

© 2004 A. James Boswell

5 thoughts on “Dynasties of Faith

  1. Thank you, very much for this great collection of advices, James. It was very well unpacked. Thank you for giving us your beautiful words to the song. I liked it very much

  2. Thanks James, its good to be reminded that our faith life is not just about me, nor just about those we don’t know, but about our ongoing family responsibility. Both here and now and into the future through our own families. (Love to hear or see your song sung one day?)

  3. An encouraging and clear comment Thank you James. We too would like to sing your song one day

  4. Thank you James. By faith FAC set up a ministry centre at Waples Rd. We had to ask the congregation to stop giving money to this ministry because we have abundant resources. We have sufficient funds to employ 4 full-time workers to share Gods love with the community. We have sufficient volunteers on our serving roster and are seeing many lives being transformed by the love of Christ which has been poured out into our hearts and being passed on to the wider community. We are seeing many come to Christ in repentance and faith and an outpouring of signs and wonders!!

    By faith!!!

    • Truly I tell you, if you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mountain, “Move from here to there,” and it will move. Nothing will be impossible for you.

Comments are closed.