A Grateful Heart

Today’s Readings: 1 Chronicles 16 & Revelations 2:12-17

I like to think I have a heart of thankfulness and an outlook on life which recognises the incredible way God has certainly blessed me in so many different ways; above all, the undeserved grace of forgiveness found only in Christ.

And I like to think that I do stop and express how grateful I am for what others have done for me too; the friend who willingly swings by to pick me up for work; the friend who drops in just to say hi; the neighbour who willingly shares an abundance of eggs and limes; the sister who never forgets special anniversary dates; my husband’s love of me and his many acts of kindness; my children and grandchildren; the beautiful location in the world I live.

Do I remember to always say thank you, or express how grateful I am? Probably not …. Somewhere in the back of my mind is a prompting that, in the world of technology, texting and email, taking the time to put pen to paper with a hand written note of thanks ‘speaks volumes’.

When I read this psalm of thanks, David’s heart through the poetry of words, I’m reminded that my life too should be one that overflows with a heart of thankfulness. Do I overflow?? Can I when things go wrong, or when I find myself in the midst of grief and despair, still find aspects in the circumstances to be grateful for?

David’s psalm of thanks is a reminder that everything about God is worthy of praise, irrespective of circumstances. Like us today, David’s was a reminder to the Israelites of the undeserved grace God had shown them; a people chosen God.

‘He remembers his covenant forever, the word he commanded for a thousand generations, the covenant he made with Abraham, the oath he swore to Isaac.’ vs 15 & 16

A people rescued by God.

When they were few in number, few indeed and strangers in it, they wandered from nation to nation, from kingdom to another. He allowed no man to oppress them; for their sake he rebuked kings: “Do not touch my appointed ones; do my prophets no harm.”  vs 19-22

And we are no different; undeserved grace expressed in the gift of salvation as part of the promise made so long ago to Abraham, fulfilled in Christ. So how do I respond?

Sing to the Lord all the earth; proclaim his salvation day after day.
Declare his glory among the nations, his marvellous deeds among the peoples.
For great is the Lord and most worthy of praise!   Chronicles 16:27-25

Yes, David overflowed with joy and thankfulness as the Ark of the Covenant was brought back into its rightful place, giving gifts to each person and appointing the musicians to ‘minister before the ark’.  David’s song of praise and thanks would be sung over and over again; Let the heavens rejoice, let the earth be glad; let them say among the nations “The Lord reigns!” vs 31

One of the most powerful ways we can witness to the world about our great God, is to sing his praise with the way we live our lives.

Heavenly Father, I pray you expand my heart; daily open my eyes and ears to never miss seeing you at work in your world and in my life. May circumstances never draw my eyes so far downward, that I fail to see the goodness and blessing in every day. Pray with me, and ‘Give thanks to the Lord, for he is good; his love endures forever’.  vs 34

Then all the people said “Amen” and “Praise the Lord”!  vs 36b

KD

2 thoughts on “A Grateful Heart

  1. Thou who hast given so much to me give me one more thing………..
    a grateful heart. George Herbert

Comments are closed.