A Small Omission

As I began reading 1 Chronicles 20 I thought to myself: “Oh yeah. I know this passage. This is where David spys Bathsheba having a bath which leads to his adultery and then him contracting Uriah’s murder.” (2 Samuel 11). But this is omitted in 1 Chronicles. There could be any number of reasons the writer chose to do this. But it would be just guess work by us to figure it out.

This small omission challenged me about my habit of omitting sins from my internal journal of achievements. How easy it is to gloss over that which is not so glossy in our lives. And the more we gloss, the easier it becomes. Pretty soon we begin to even fool ourselves.

God doesn’t want pretending people. He wants truthful people.

David’s slippery slope begins when he stops leading under God (1 Chron 20:1).

In the spring, at the time when kings go off to war, Joab led out the armed forces… but David remained in Jerusalem

David was beginning to take a back seat in his role and one failure led to another, then to another. But how do we break out of this spiral when we get stuck in the same temptation?

(Answer coming tomorrow 🙂

God you know all things. you know when I lie down, and when I wake up. I cannot fool you in anything. Help me to be truthful in my accounting before you. God thank you that you have already taken away my sin through Jesus. Help me to displace my pride and instead kneel before the cross in repentance. Amen

 

One thought on “A Small Omission

  1. Thanks Lachlan. Just read this, thought I’d share it with my church family.

    Because salvation is by grace through faith I believe that amongst the countless number of people standing in front of the throne and infront of the Lamb, dressed in white robes and holding palms in their hands (Rev 7:9). I shall see the prostitute from the Kit Kat Ranch, Nevada who tearfully told me that she could find no other employment to support her two year old son. I shall see the woman who had an abortion and is haunted by guilt and remorse but did the best she could, faced with grueling alternatives. The businessman besieged by debt who sold his integrity in a series of desperate transactions : the insecure clergyman addicted to being liked, who never challenged his people from the pulpit and longed for unconditional love.. The sexually abused teen molested by his father and now selling his body on the street who, as he falls asleep each night after his last” trick”, whispers the name of the unknown God he learned about at Sunday school.

    But how?, we ask
    Then the voice says,” they have washed their robes and have made them white in the blood of the Lamb”.
    They are there. There we are – the multitude who so wanted to be faithful who at times got defeated, soiled by life and bested by trials, wearing the bloodied garments of life’s tribulations, but through it all clung to faith.

    My friends if this is not good news to you , you have never understood the gospel of grace.
    Brennan Manning

Comments are closed.