Jesus’ kingdom is better

Matthew 4:12-25
2 Chronicles 9:1-12

Israel’s story of redemption is always pointing to Jesus and the kingdom he is to inaugurate.
And so when we find Israel in their golden age under Solomon, with all the power and comfort and just general goodness God has given them, we know that although it is great it is still but a shadow of the kingdom that is to come.
In Matthew 4:12-25 we see Jesus at the beginning of his journey leading to the inauguration of this great prophesied kingdom.
‘Repent, for the kingdom of heaven is near.’ (v17)

I love verse 23.
‘Jesus went throughout Galilee, teaching in their synagogues, preaching the good news of the kingdom, and healing every disease and sickness among the people.’

Teaching, preaching and healing. That is how Jesus went about his ministry. Should my, should our, model of ministry in this world have this triple focus too? As soon as I start thinking about healing and its prevalence in the gospels, I always find myself reassuring myself that its fine that we don’t see physical healing in the western church, in Figtree church. And maybe it totally is, but maybe its not.

Anyway I think it is well cool that here in Matthew we see Jesus begin his ministry of inaugurating his kingdom which is so much greater than that of all the majesty and power and wealth and goodness found in Israel’s golden age under Solomon.

Sorry Ive missed my last two and that this one is up late. I’ll try plan better next time!

Shaun

2 thoughts on “Jesus’ kingdom is better

  1. Thank you Shaun. We might not see so much physical healing today but neither do we hear much about what Jesus said in verse 17,” Repent of your sins and turn to God for the Kingdom of Heaven is near”. Physical healing is wonderful and we shouldn’t stop praying for people to be healed according to the Spirits leading BUT a healed heart is far more important because our bodies will return to the dust of the earth but our soul/heart will spend eternity in only one of two places heaven or hell. I wouldn’t have become a Christian if I wasn’t presented with the whole of the Gospel.
    1. That I was loved by Jesus and He died for all my sin.
    2. I had to repent of my sin and live in a new way with Jesus on the throne of my heart and not self anymore.

    May FAC be a place where the whole Gospel message is proclaimed ( not just the ” nice” bits)!!

Comments are closed.