Slave

Good morning faithful servants of Christ.

Sorry for for the late blog post.

I love Romans. I could spend a week just mining the depths of chapter 6 alone!

I have never been a slave, well not in the traditional sense of the word. So can I really understand what Paul means when he talks of being a slave to sin and a slave to righteousness? Unlike a traditional sense of slavery, It seems that I get to chose who will be my master. Will it be sin or righteousness?

Romans 6:13

Do not offer any part of yourself to sin as an instrument of wickedness, but rather offer yourself to God as one who has been brought from death to life. And offer every part of yourself to him as an instrument of righteousness.

Every part? From the top of my head to the tip of my toe and everywhere in between? From my inner most thoughts to my outer most actions?

Time for a full systems check. Time for some serious reflection. Time for some confession and repentance. Time to put sin to death and start really living for righteousness.

As an electronics technician earlier in my life I used many instruments to help build, fix and calibrate certain bits of equipment. One item that I regularly used was an anti static wrist strap. This would ensure that the static electricity in my body wouldn’t zap any sensitive electronics. I know some people who seem to carry around a excess of static electricity. Even just  touching a keyboard would sometimes cause a computer to crash. I suggested to one such person that they wear an anti static wrist strap whenever they wanted to use their computer. Initially they laughed at me, but then they tried it and it made all the difference.

Are there areas in your life that are being used as instruments of wickedness that needed to be re calibrated or tuned up? Is there anything in any area of your life that is causing unwanted destruction? What measures can you put in place to ensure that you become an instrument of righteousness?

Who or what is your master?

