God preserves His people

Esther 9:1-17

I have to admit, the book of Esther really confuses me. Even though Esther and Mordecai were clearly passionate about the Jewish people, and showed great courage in many ways, it’s hard to know whether they were truly devoted to God.

But God is clearly at work behind the scenes, and I think this is where the story of Esther has most value for us as Christians today. It shows us plainly what God is like. It demonstrates that he is a God who preserves his people.

This is what we see in chapter 9. Here we have an incredible turning of the tables:

“Now in the twelfth month, which is the month of Adar, on the thirteenth day of the same, when the king’s command and edict were about to be carried out, on the very day when the enemies of the Jews hoped to gain the mastery over them, the reverse occurred: the Jews gained mastery over those who hated them” (Esther 9:1).

On what was supposed to be the day that the Jews were destroyed (see 3:13), the Jews themselves overcame all “who sought their harm” (9:2). The king had sent forth a new edict (in 8:10-12) in light of Esther’s pleas (8:3), and this meant that the Jews were saved!

This is our God. He preserved the Jewish people then, and he preserves believers now. He is a God who “providentially watches over his own, and… no power levelled against them can ultimately prevail (Rom 8:28)” [ESV Study Bible, p. 851). For the NT believer, Jesus has promised that “they will never perish, and no one will snatch them out of my hand“ (John 10:28)

May this truth bring you great joy today, and stir you to live for His glory.

Daniel Budd

4 thoughts on “God preserves His people

  1. Thank you Daniel. As we also look at the verse from 1 Corinthians 13:4, lets insert our own name where the word love is and allow the Holy Spirit to convict us where we need to repent and ask for His help in being more like Jesus Who is the only one who loves perfectly all the time.

    ……………. is patient
    ……………….is kind
    ……………….does not envy
    ………………..does not boast
    …………………is not proud.

    May I (we) give permission for the Spirit to move in our hearts, and where needed be washed by the Blood of Jesus that cleanses us whiter than the snow.

  2. Cant leave a thank you Iris for today’s reading, hope you’ll find this one!

    God must be changing me. My golden retriever peed on our very expensive carpet!! I had a choice to make. I could get angry quite easily but as I remembered that love is not easily angered I chose the more excellent way. Cleaned it up with out too much fuss. I think that its these “little foxes” that pop up from day to day are the best indicator as to how my (our ) love walk is going. If we can handle the little upsets we will be better equipped to handle the bigger ones.

    Now the person that gave me “the finger” on the road this morning I have to forgive him, so that I don’t have to think about it anymore.

Comments are closed.