A one sided contest

Job is one of my favourite books of the Bible. One of the many reasons I love it is the unshakeable steadfast simplicity and certainty of Job’s faith in God (but there’s so much more to it than that! It truly is a fabulous book). We’re only a little way in yet, and there is a lot more for poor Job to go through as he wrestles with his situation, his neighbours, and his God.

Here in Job 9, Job’s response to Bildad shows both wisdom and certainty. Job is absolutely convinced of God’s power and character. He is in no doubt about where he stands in comparison to God’s might and God’s justice. He cannot hope to challenge God or debate with him (though his chance will come, and he’s right, it turns out to be rather one sided).

Note Job’s longing at the end of the chapter in vv 32-35

‘He is not a mere mortal like me that I might answer him,
that we might confront each other in court.
If only there were someone to mediate between us,
someone to bring us together,
someone to remove God’s rod from me,
so that his terror would frighten me no more.
Then I would speak up without fear of him,
but as it now stands with me, I cannot.

Perhaps the reason people treat Jesus so lightly, is they don’t have Job’s unshakeable understanding of how completely outmatched they are by God. They don’t see the need for a mediator, because they don’t realise God’s absolute power and might the way Job did.

As we head over to the New Testament in 1 Cor 15:51-58, we see how amazing it is to be the beneficiaries of having God’s provided mediator on our side. In vv 55 & 56 we read

‘Where, O death, is your victory?
Where, O death, is your sting?’
The sting of death is sin, and the power of sin is the law. But thanks be to God! He gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ.

When the contest is so one sided, it’s great to know the winner is fighting for you.

3 thoughts on “A one sided contest

  1. Thank you James. As I was sharing my faith with the owner of one of the Thai Restaurants in Woonona on Sunday one of the things I shared with her was the fact that if I was to die today I know that i would be with Jesus in Heaven. She said that she saw a peace in my life and I could share that this peace is in my heart because I need not fear anything in this life. Especially death. Hoping for an opportunity to continue the conversation. Luckily I enjoy Thai food.

  2. Thanks James. I wish I had Job’s clear vision of the awesomeness of God Almighty and his own position of trust before Him .

Comments are closed.