sin, grace and a heart after God

Today’s faithful daily read is Psalm 51 

‘For I know my transgressions, and my sin is ever before me. Against you, you only, have I sinned and done what is evil in your sight, so that you may be justified in your words and blameless in your judgment. Behold, I was brought forth in iniquity, and in sin did my mother conceive me’ 

‘Behold, you delight in truth in the inward being, and you teach me wisdom in the secret heart’

‘Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a right* spirit within me’

‘The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit; a broken and contrite heart, O God, you will not despise’

‘Restore to me the joy of your salvation, and uphold me with a willing spirit’

This is David. The king, Adulterer and murderer. This is the famous one with the heart after God. He has sinned dreadfully…but he doesn’t take it lightly. David doesn’t believe in ‘cheap grace’.

He knows the state of his heart, that it is inclined toward sin—the human condition he was born with—a heart that desires to make his own rules. Yet, he brings his heart before God in godly remorse. This is what we read about in 2 Cor the other day ‘sorrow that leads to repentance’.

David is not in self whipping mode or trying to pay off his sin with sacrifice or penance. He has simply awoken through the rebuke of Nathan the prophet. He is seeing his sin for what it is, ‘a pile of rotting rubbish’ in his heart. He bags up the rubbish, acknowledges it with godly sorrow and takes it out to the curb for the rubbish truck. He leaves it and walks back inside to the living room of grace.

This is how a heart after God lives—not in cheap grace, but deep grace.

Geoff

 

2 thoughts on “sin, grace and a heart after God

  1. Thank you Geoff. The challenge for me (us) is to not do as David did. He let his unconfessed sin out there for at least 9 months 2 Sam 11;27. (Just a simple maths calculation). Keeping short accounts with God is the only way to live with the peace that surpasses understanding. Sin disrupts my relationship with God. I am still His daughter but until the “sin” is dealt with and brought into the light and covered with the Blood of Christ, its still there. Cheap Grace says,”Its doesn’t matter God forgives me”. But God has His ways of dealing with our sin. A broken and contrite heart God will not dispose V17. As I own up and deal with my part of a sin whether its is an act, or a thought or something I should have done but chose not to do God looks upon the heart to see if Im sincere and not just paying “lip service”. The broken and contrite heart will be put back into right relationship with God, where as the “lip service”, with no sorrow will still have to deal with this in the right way. God doesn’t change. There are no short cuts in dealing with sin. Only the Blood of Jesus can cleanse me from all unrighteousness and make me whiter than the snow. And then God puts my sin in the deepest part of the sea, Micah 7:19, and as Corrie Ten Boom says,” He puts up a sign that says “NO FISHING”!!!
    Thats freedom!!! Thats the abundant life that we have throughout Christ. Thats what this hurting world needs to hear this Christmas. That what the Church of today needs to do, get real about the sin in their lives so that we can make a difference in this world.

  2. Geoff is it not a wonderful thing to know that we are able to throw our miserable, sinful, selves at the foot of that Cross and a Gracious God. Thanks for this reminder today. Keep running in many ways!

Comments are closed.