In 2015 – I will – what?

Counsellingnew-years-eve-resolutions-kaleidoscope-mental-health-services-melbournegeelong-werribee-motivation-anxiety

It isn’t far into the New Year, for those who have made New Year’s resolutions – how are you going with them?

In Psalm 101 we have a series of resolutions – declarations of commitment by the Psalmist identified as King David. The language of these resolutions is not too dissimilar from the wise virtues we have been reading in the book of Proverbs earlier this week.

I have rearranged the structure of the Psalm as a series of declarations to meditate upon and ponder if we like David can make these same resolutions for the year ahead. We may find some easy, others if we are honest, will be a struggle to achieve.

I will sing of your love and justice;
I will sing praise to you, LORD,
I will be careful to lead a blameless life
I will wait for you to come to me.
I will conduct the affairs of my house with a blameless heart.
I will not look with approval on anything that is vile.
I will have no part in what faithless people do
I will have nothing to do with what is evil – the perverse of heart shall be far from me.
I will put to silence whoever slanders their neighbour in secret;
I will not tolerate whoever has haughty eyes and a proud heart.
I will focus on the faithful in the land, that they may dwell with me;
I will let whose way of life is blameless minister to me.
I will not let those who practise deceit dwell in my house;
I will not allow those who speak falsely to stand in my presence.
I will put to silence all the wicked in the land each day;
I will cut off every evildoer from the city of the LORD.

in 2015 – I will …..what?

