Sound of Silence

Proverbs 19:11 – “A person’s wisdom yields patience; it is to one’s glory to overlook an offence.”

How interesting it is that God’s way is often quieter and seemingly counter-intuitive. It is easy to give credence to people who speak firmly, quickly, judgmentally and confidently but this does not mean anything at all. Quite likely they are the words of a fool – perverse lips, hasty feet, raging heart, surrounded by listeners (“friends”). Several times in the Word God’s voice sounds like the absence of these – a still small voice – despite His ability to do quite the opposite (for example in the latter chapters of Job). So you and I must keep looking for the true value of knowledge and wisdom beyond the revered shock jocks and 24-second news cycles of this age. Then we will not be deceived.

Ephesians 5:6 – “Let no one be deceived with empty words, for because of such things God’s wrath comes on those who are disobedient.”

Matthew

2 thoughts on “Sound of Silence

  1. Thank you Matthew. To me the Ephesians reading is a reminder for the Christian for holy living. Something which is needed to be taught today as we see Christians sliding into much of what the world calls “normal”. But we are called to be set apart from the world, to be in the world but not of of it. I’m going to but a book by J.I Packer called Rediscovering Holiness so that I can be reminded of Gods high calling for my life and how that is to be lived out. Another great book is by Jerry Bridges, The Pursuit Of Holiness. I cant remember when I last heard a sermon on holiness for the Christian, it sure is needed.

    for it is written: BE HOLY BECAUSE I AM HOLY.

Comments are closed.