Philippians 1

Joshua 20 

Philippians 1:1-11

I love the book of Philippians.  It uses such beautiful language to convey such powerful truths.  Two stood out to me in this opening passage of Philippians;

v6 …being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.

God is faithful.  He is growing his kingdom into the mustard tree, not me.  Upon realising this a beautiful sense of peace overwhelms me. God has got it covered.

v9-11.. that your love may abound more and more in knowledge and depth of insight, so that you may be able to discern what is best and may be pure and blameless for the day of Christ, filled with the fruit of righteousness that comes through Jesus Christ – to the glory and praise of God.

More and more.  I love that about our faith.  It will never end, we will never max it out.  We can always grow more, know more, understand more, serve more.  That is the mindblowing thing about having an infinite God.  We can never max Him out – not in anything.  For all of eternity we will be reveling in the infinite love He has for us, and growing more and more and more and more in love with him as the millions of years pass by.

Paul prays that we will be continually growing, continually coming closer to our Father so that we may live holier and holier lives.

I don’t know how these two truths link together fully yet (in that the first puts the onus solely on God, and the second puts some back on us) but at the moment Im happy to just hold them at the same time.

Let peace overwhelm us, God has got it covered. He is growing is kingdom, not us.

Pray that we may never stop growing in love, knowledge and insight so that we will always be living lives that pull us closer and closer to our Father.

Shaun

5 thoughts on “Philippians 1

  1. Thx Shaun for your thoughts. I guess Paul felt this way when he said he was the worst of all sinners. I don’t think he was really…….. but I think as he meditated more on Gods grace shown to him he saw his own righteousness for what it was. I disagree with you however……..God is growing his kingdom in all believers (including me!) as they are slowly maybe even undiscernibly are being transformed into the image of Christ, and as you say this is a process that will take all our lives and not be complete until He comes in glory. I don’t know about others but the transformation needs to hurry up a bit in my life:) Bless you Shawn.

Comments are closed.