Greed

Judges 17, Col 4:7-18

We all have possessions which are very special to us. If they are lost, or misplaced (after being safely secreted in a “special” place) it can be a cause for great concern.

It seems this lady did consider her 1100 shekels of silver very precious. She was so irate when the shekels were missing that she cursed loudly and vehemently. So aggressive were her curses that her son returned the precious cargo to her! What a fearsome mother!

It is interesting to read how the woman used the silver after its return. She decided to consecrate an idol to God using this silver as it meant so much to her. Unfortunately she she was only able to part with a small amount to make the idol, only 200 of the 1100 shekels. (I wonder whether she grew up in the time when idol worship was considered appropriate and this encouraged her to take this course of action?) This idol, which was consecrated to the Lord, was only overlaid with silver. Not so valuable after all if you know what is hidden underneath. Not so honouring to God either.

And what of the Levite? Was he honouring God by being employed by the family? Did he have an altar, burn incense and make sacrifices in this family home? So many unanswered questions about his role.

Greed is so pervasive in our life and relationships. Greed is all about me. Greed can direct my decisions of what to do with my possessions, how I treat other people, what I do with my time, how I worship God.

I pray that I can honour God each day. May the Holy Spirit guide and direct me to joyfully give my possessions, my time, my heart to my Lord everyday.

1 Chronicles 16:29

Ascribe to the Lord the glory due his name; bring an offering and come before him.
Worship the Lord in the splendour of his holiness.

Iris

One thought on “Greed

  1. Thank you Iris. This quote from John Wesley, “Earn all you can, give all you can, save all you can”. He lived this out so may we.

Comments are closed.