I feel like I’m being watched

Have you ever had the feeling you were being watched? It’s unsettling isn’t it? Why? Because we don’t know the intentions behind that pair of eyes. On the other hand, as a small child we probably didn’t even realize we were being closely watched by our parents, and probably didn’t give it a second though why they were always right there when we needed them the most. I’ve always felt pretty independent, rarely relying on others to get a job done, but I suppose that is simply a reflection of my independence from God. Like a small child I often don’t even think about God always watching over me and always being there when I need him the most. He just is.

In Psalm 121 the psalmist wants the assembly to see where their help comes from:

I lift up my eyes to the mountains—
    where does my help come from?
My help comes from the Lord,
    the Maker of heaven and earth.

Whilst I think I know this (although at times I may not remember it), I have an issue with the Psalmist declaring:

He will not let your foot slip… (v. 3)

The Lord will keep you from all harm (v. 7)

… because I know that there has been many times when I have slipped, and when I and others have experienced significant harm. I know that God could protect me from these things, but my experience is that he doesn’t always.

Can anyone help me out with this one?

3 thoughts on “I feel like I’m being watched

  1. Hey Lachlan don’t be so hard on yourself!……….By observation I see you as the engineer techie hands on type of person……basically a problem solver who has both the resourcefulness and skills to do stuff. Is this independence from God?….well sometimes I suppose it could be or more likely you are just exercising the gifts God has given you in the first place. I will add though, for me at least I know pride can get in the way of asking for help from anyone……..(maybe including God) until I get really desperate or fed up.
    Still mulling over the second part of your reflection……
    Blessings brother

  2. Now that’s a question! I don’t have an answer. We are discussing with family around the breakfast table – Is harm a spiritual harm, something we can’t protect ourselves from? Keeping us from Satan, safe for eternity?

  3. Thank you Lachlan. I love this Psalm. If i have ever sent a text message or a card to somebody who is a Christian the chances that Ps121 is written at the end of that message is pretty high.
    For me v3 tells me that God keeps us steady in difficult circumstances. The Bible doesn’t say that we won’t experience difficulty in our lives but God has promised to keep us steady through those difficult times. I have experienced this first hand on many occasions. Reminded of Habakkuk 3:19,” The Sovereign Lord is my strength. He makes me as sure footed as a deer able to tread upon the heights”. And In Isaiah 43:2,” When you go through deep waters I will be with you. When you go through rivers of difficulty you will not drown. When you walk through the fire of oppression you will not be burned up the flames will not consume you”.

    And V7 assures me that Satan can’t do me harm in regards to Eternity and when I’m under Spiritual attack. The Blood of Jesus cleanses me from all unrighteousness. He might try and sometimes succeed but my eternal destination is secure. It reminds me of Psalm 91. Where all the promises offered in this Psalm are hinged on the reader being rooted on the first two verses. Im sure that there would have been Christians amongst those killed in yesterdays lone gunman’s attack on the beach in Tunisia their life here may have been cut short but their eternal destiny is secure because of Jesus.

    I love the whole counsel of Gods Word to find answers to life’s challenges. .

Comments are closed.