Be on your guard. Grow in the grace and knowledge of our Lord.

Today’s readings are Ezekiel 41 and 1 Peter 3.

While Ezekiel continues his detailed tour of the temple Peter closes his letter with a number of encouragements and behavioural standards refreshed or given to us by Jesus.

Yet it is not these that often perplex us.  We know of falling away, of scoffers and those who twist the word of the Bible to meet their own purposes.  We may not always see them for what they are.

But do not forget this one thing, dear friends: with the Lord a day is like a thousand years, and a thousand years are like a day.

What?

When I am sensitive to my God and watching how God cares for me and those I love and those I don’t know but whom I have been told about, I am aware of the great love God showers on all of us including those who do not yet know him as Lord and Saviour.  I am particularly amazed at the efforts He goes to in providing opportunities for non-believers to become believers. Its not just for non-believers for He loves you and I so much that He not only wishes to provide us with mercy but to restore us to His chosen people.

To provide every opportunity for many to be saved and to grow in grace and knowledge of Jesus.  Yet at a time of God’s choosing to bring judgement on all when Jesus returns as Lord and the heavens and earth are cleaned and changed forever.

14 So then, dear friends, since you are looking forward to this, make every effort to be found spotless, blameless and at peace with him.

May we continue patiently to seek to be ambassadors for Christ encouraging and witnessing to those who do not know Him to come into the Kingdom of God, walking with and supporting and challenging our Christian brothers and sisters, and growing in grace and knowledge of Jesus Christ.

Glenn

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Be on your guard. Grow in the grace and knowledge of our Lord.

  1. Thank you Glenn. Today we are leaving Fiji for home and our 14yr old has come down with a gastro bug. No sleep last night. During the course of our stay I shared my faith with our housekeeper who was also a Christian. This morning God graciously put her in my path and I asked her to please pray for my daughter as it didn’t look like she was fit to fly. That was 3 hrs ago and it looks like she has turned a corner. Our God is a God who provides us with brothers and sisters to help us to grow in our walk with the Lord all around this world. I needed another sister in the Lord to pray with me and together God has heard our petition for my daughter. God is good!! May we have traveling mercies for our flight home.

Comments are closed.