“From a Distance God is watching us”……….NOT!!

Hum the tune if you know it. Yeah, I hated this song both for the lameness of the music (which of course is a matter or personal taste) and also the lyric.

Our reading today is Psam124…….and my reflection on it is late….sorry FDR’s.

This psalm with 14 others (120 -134) is a song of ascent that the Israelites would sing as they went up to the temple to worship.

Unlike the song just mentioned above this Psalm praises God for his protection and involvement in the security of the nation. He is not some distant impersonal force who is either disinterested in the fortunes of Israel or powerless to doing anything about those who oppose them.

In his Psalm David recognises  that the Lord is on their side and has protected them from being swept away like floodwaters and being snared like a bird in a trap. They have escaped calamity because of the benevolent protection both seen and unseen of the Lord.

I like to think that Father God protects his children just as an earthly father would.He will intervene maybe known or unknown by us for our benefit.He holds all things together by the power of his word. Nothing happens without his knowledge or permission either to us personally or to the nations.

 T. D. Jakes the American preacher once said, “That thing that is not coming to you may seem good. But either the timing is wrong, or from His position He can see that the future of it is bleak. I have always believed that people who thank God only for delivering them from what happened are just scraping the surface of praise. The real praise comes when you start thanking Him for what could have happened but didn’t because of His swift grace!”

Of course we do have to hold this in balance with the realty of what we know  happens to Christian people just as it happens to anyone else. We die from cancer, wars, accidents and so on… It seems a mystery that the Lord does sometimes seem to intervene…..and sometimes does not. I’m sure the early and current Christian martyrs may have pondered and agonised over the same question.

I thought these may help:

1John 5:18  We know that everyone who has been born of God does not keep on sinning, but he who was born of God protects him, and the evil one does not touch him.

2Thessalonians 3:3 But the Lord is faithful. He will establish you and guard you against the evil one.

Psalm 23:1-4 The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want.  He makes me lie down in green pastures. He leads me beside still waters.  He restores my soul.  He leads me in paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.  Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me.

Isaiah 41:10  fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

God may well be watching you but not from a distance. Thank Him for his “swift grace”.He is with you to the end of the age.

One thought on ““From a Distance God is watching us”……….NOT!!

  1. Thanks Al. Better late than never! And one of my favorites Romans 8:31,” If God is for us who can be against us’.
    Have a fruitful week church!!

Comments are closed.