Be Occupied With Joy in Your Heart

Ecclesiastes 5

18 Behold, what I have seen to be good and fitting is to eat and drink and find enjoyment in all the toil with which one toils under the sun the few days of his life that God has given him, for this is his lot. 19 Everyone also to whom God has given wealth and possessions and power to enjoy them, and to accept his lot and rejoice in his toil—this is the gift of God. 20 For he will not much remember the days of his life because God keeps him occupied with joy in his heart.

2 thoughts on “Be Occupied With Joy in Your Heart

  1. Thank you Iris. The Matthew reading is a great encouragement for us as we see Jesus compassion in action. The few verses before showed us how Jesus taught about being a servant to others. Here in these verses He puts into action what He was talking about. I love that about Him that His words match His walk. These two blind men “saw” the Messiah even though their eyes were blind. Yet those religious leaders had great vision their hearts were not open to seeing Jesus for Who He was. Seeing with your eyes doesn’t guarantee seeing with your heart. Jesus is still asking the same question to His followers today,”What do you want Me to do for you?” Of course the most important answer is seeking forgiveness from Jesus but as we build on our relationship with Him we too can bring our needs before Him;

    Jesus I need peace – John 14:27
    Jesus I’m feeling troubled – John 16:33
    Jesus I’m fearful – Deut 31:6
    Jesus I’m lonely – Hebrews 13:5
    Jesus I’m feeling unloved – Romans 8:38-39
    Jesus I’m feeling condemned – Romans 8:1
    Jesus I’m anxious – Phil 4:6-7
    Jesus am I really forgiven? – Colossians 2:13-14………………

    What is it that Jesus can do for you today?

    • Connie, I always appreciate reading your insightful comments. Thank you. I love the blind men’s faith. They couldn’t see him but knew he would hear them and answer. I have been thinking about what Jesus can do for me today – direct my thoughts and actions so I live for Him every moment. A huge task, but we know all things are possible! Enjoy your day with our Saviour who gave His life for us. What a privilege!

Comments are closed.