I’m too young!

Today we begin an adventure with Jeremiah. Like most people when called into ministry he is eager to serve the Lord but he is a little apprehensive. God reminds him, as he reminds us, in Jeramiah 1: 4-5

The word of the Lord came to me, saying,

“Before I formed you in the womb I knew you,
    before you were born I set you apart;
    I appointed you as a prophet to the nations.”

That is a pretty amazing word from God. God has made Jeremiah part of his plan before he was even born. That’s incredible for each one of us too. Its not just that God sees me and says, “right, what can I do with this bloke?” he actually had me as part of his eternal plan before, as the saying goes, I was a twinkle in my parents eyes. This should change our mindset. So often we are eager to find where we should serve. The reality is that God will put us exactly where he has planned us to be from before the beginning of time. This means being completely dependent on God. But where then is our responsibility? How should I respond. Surely I’m not meant to just sit and wait.

Jeremiah responds to God’s call by sharing his fear:

“Alas, Sovereign Lord,” I said, “I do not know how to speak; I am too young.”

Often when God calls us we feel underprepared and unworthy of the task he sets before us. But I think that God wants his leaders to feel inadequate, because only then do they rely on Him. God reminds young Jeremiah

But the Lord said to me, “Do not say, ‘I am too young.’ You must go to everyone I send you to and say whatever I command you. Do not be afraid of them, for I am with you and will rescue you,” declares the Lord.

In the end God makes it clear what the outcome will be:

17 “Get yourself ready! Stand up and say to them whatever I command you. Do not be terrified by them, or I will terrify you before them.

Trust in God, or be terrified! There’s plenty of situations in our life to be terrified, which actually gives us plenty of situations in which to trust God. I want to ask God for an increased trust in him, but I’m terrified that what he will do is allow me to be in situations that terrify me so that I learn to put my trust in him.

Ummm… maybe I’ll just pray: “Thank you God that you are growing my trust in you”

One thought on “I’m too young!

  1. Thank you Lachlan. The Matthew reading is a warning to the church about all thats going to happen in these last days. We are in the last days. Today we are another day closer to when Jesus is coming back. Some sober warnings for us to heed. False teachers are becoming the norm its very important to know our bibles and to ask for the spiritual gift of discerning of spirits. We have seen so many natural disasters over the last decade or so like never before. We are seeing once professing Christians now turning their back on Jesus – only God knows if they were really saved in the first place – but its still very painful to watch when you walk with these people. I loved Ian’s reminder yesterday in Phil 1:6 that God will finish what He has started.
    v12 breaks my heart. Because of the amount of sin in the church amongst Christians there will be a lack of love. Do we aim to love one another well? Are we willing to forsake sin? Do we really see the ugliness of our sin or are we making excuses? Thats just the way I am……….. doesn’t cut it for the Christ follower.
    V14 must becoming a reality soon the Gospel is reaching into the whole world. We cry out come Lord Jesus come, but not yet _ for there are still many who God wants included in His family, my husband hopefully will be one of them.

Comments are closed.