When God’s word comes true

Jeremiah 10, Matt 26:30-46

Do I believe that God’s word is true, always? Yes. At least in my head I do.

Peter’s loyalty to Jesus in Matthew 26:30-46 is commendable. His faithfulness, at least in his words is admirable. Certainly I think Peter believed what he said

“Even if all fall away on account of you, I never will.” (26:33)

But when his faith was put to the test, epic fail. But it wasn’t just him:

And all the other disciples said the same. (26:35)

When it comes to our own strength it will always be an epic fail. Especially when we try to do what we think is right, but when this doesn’t accord with God’s plan. You see not only was Peter’s epic fail written about in OT prophecy:

“‘I will strike the shepherd,
    and the sheep of the flock will be scattered.’

(Matt 26:31 / Zech 13:7)

But also Jesus said it would happen:

“Truly I tell you,” Jesus answered, “this very night, before the rooster crows, you will disown me three times.” (Matt 26:34)

Just because something is right, like promising to never deny Jesus, doesn’t necessarily mean it is part of God’s sovereign plan! Woah!

So what am I supposed to do? Do what is right but be prepared for God’s sovereignty to have a much bigger picture in mind.

2 thoughts on “When God’s word comes true

  1. Thanks Lachlan – a scary reality you pointed out.
    These’s also the knowing and owning, but not doing when it comes to,the test.

  2. Thank you Lachlan. God expects us to fail and like Peter we can fall into the trap of then being too hard on ourselves and allowing the Enemy to have a field day throwing his accusations about at us. But when we fail big or small until I deal with it by the Blood of Jesus which cleanses it’s still there. Jesus after His resurrection reinstated Peter He is also able to restore us today. My mistakes are used by God because He is sovereign. No experience is wasted in Gods economy.
    What you meant for evil God intended for good – Genesis 50;20

Comments are closed.