When all else fails …

Today’s Readings: Psalm 140

How do you react when disaster looms or when a crisis hits? How do you react when you are wrongly criticised or slandered?

I have to admit that although I know deep down that in all circumstances my first reaction should be to firstly pray, that’s not always the case. The brain often goes into overload as I try to solve the problem, work out evasive action or worse still, retaliate with words that are hurtful.

What immediately came to mind as I read this Psalm about the challenges David was facing, was the old hymn, What a friend we have in Jesus. Do you know the words?

What a friend we have in Jesus
All our sins and griefs to bear
What a privilege to carry, everything thing to God in prayer
Who would find a friend so faithful
Who would all our troubles share
We need never be discouraged
Take it to the lord in prayer

Such a simple hymn but a great reminder that we too, at all times and in all circumstances, like David, can claim that; O Lord, I say to you, “You are my God.” Hear, O Lord, my cry for mercy. O Sovereign Lord, my strong deliverer, who shields my head in the day of battle –  vs 6-7

The language David uses in this Psalm is of a man who has a deep trust in God, obviously through past experience of knowing both with his head and his heart, that by bringing everything to God in prayer and leaving it with him, God will indeed provide and rescue. David’s prayers are his act of worship as he acknowledges so much of the character of God; even the ability to truly grasp there is no retaliation or fixing the situation. That’s God’s role.

As Paul in writing to the Romans quotes from Deuteronomy 32, “It is mine to avenge; I will repay,” says the Lord. Romans 12:19

So when I find myself in times of trouble (sounds like another song!), may I like David, stop and bring my cry to God who I can trust to bring me through.

Rescue me, O Lord from … vs 1
Keep me, O Lord from … vs 4
Protect me from … vs 4b

And I can do this because, I know that the Lord secures justice for the poor and upholds the cause of the needy. vs 12

KD

One thought on “When all else fails …

  1. Thx for your blog today Karen. I think I see some of who you are in your commentary. Indeed you are a problem solver and logical thinker. There will always be tension between praying and doing for those gifted such as you. But all of us need “to take it to the Lord in prayer”. Sounds simple 🙂

Comments are closed.