Freedom in Christ

Today’s readings are Jeremiah 49 and 1 Corinthians 6:12-20

Paul opens this section of his letter to the Corinthians with words that epitomise the freedom we have in Christ:

“All things are lawful for me”, but not all things are helpful. “All things are lawful for me”, but I will not be enslaved by anything.
1 Cor 6:12

In Romans, Paul tells us that we have been freed from the “law of sin and death”:

For the law of the Spirit of life has set you free in Christ Jesus from the law of sin and death.
Rom 8:2

I have found these to be precious words in my Christian walk.

I was brought up in a tradition that classified sins by their level of severity and whether they would damn you to hell. What a relief it was to discover that Christ had dealt with all sin and so indeed I was free from the law of sin and death!

This hard won freedom given to us by Christ is not something to be squandered. Paul gives us this guide so that we might be wise as he urged the Corinthians to be: your body is now a member of the body of Christ. Your body is meant for the Lord, a temple of the Holy Sprit.

The focus of this passage is sexual immorality, which is very relevant to us today. But we can apply this test to ourselves before we turn our eyes or take our body into any situation. Are we honouring Christ our saviour by taking our body or mind into that situation?

Paul urges us to always remember the source of our freedom:

You are not your own, for you were bought with a price. So glorify God in your body.
1 Cor 6:20

You might also want to listen to John Piper’s reflection on lust to better bring into perspective what is at stake.

One thought on “Freedom in Christ

  1. Thank you Andrew, I always love your posts!! I’ve had to use this verse in Corinthians over the last couple of months,”I will not be enslaved by anything” to address my unhealthy eating habits. I found that I was turning to food to bring me some sort of comfort when I was feeling flat. Particularly chocolate. Half a block would disappear from the kitchen cupboard and my husband would declare,’Where has all the chocolate gone”? Or his dark chocolate bullets would be down to a meager 10 when the packet was full the previous night. My silence was enough to show my guilt. Well I decided to take Gods word and use it, and its worked. The chocolate or anything of that sugary comfort matter no longer has the appeal that it used to have. It can now sit wrapped up for weeks at a time without me devouring it. Even though this is a silly example compared to what Paul is addressing, namely sexual sin, I truly believe that with Gods power we can overcome ANYTHING that we really want to. Its only when we don’t really want to give up our sin or our habit that we choose to hang onto it. The Holy Spirit lives in me and I choose to put what is good into this temple.

Comments are closed.