In the Blink of an Eye

Now we come to the moment of escape. Pharoah has so far resisted showing compassion under duress of all kinds of plagues. The last one is different and strikes at his heart through his children. Verse 12 “Because the Lord kept vigil that night to bring them out of Egypt”. The Lord kept vigil. How awesome is that? After 430 years of slavery the Israelites are freed in an instant, told to leave immediately in the middle of the night. God acts and the seemingly impossible is done in the blink of an eye. Not only that but they leave with extra gold and silver. When God moves the results are dramatic and blessing abounds. Where can Jesus be seen in this story? As Ron pointed out a few days ago he is our sacrificial lamb, our passover feast, his blood on our doorframe. Have a read of the crucifixion accounts and notice that not one of his bones were broken either. A coincidence? I think not.

3 thoughts on “In the Blink of an Eye

  1. Thanks Matthew. You wrote “When God moves the results are dramatic and blessing abounds.” It never ceases to amaze me how when God moves in my life He does things which I never would have even thought about and they turn out much better than if I had orchestrated them. (Which is hardly surprising!)

  2. Thx Matt. I’m enjoying reading again the “letting go” of Gods people. At last Pharaoh lets them go and Egyptian people are happy that he does……they give them their gold, they are blessed. The only thing that perplexes me is why so long….430 yrs….generations born and died in slavery, knowing nothing else. I suppose we see all history in the context of our own short lifespan, but it is till cold comfort. I think the early church in a way felt the same as they saw Jesus’ return as imminent….even in their lifetime.

    • It’s a very very long time to wait. I don’t know why it took so long. I heard somewhere it was the same length of time post exodus to Jesus’ arrival in Bethlehem, hence the term “New Exodus” when God freed his people from bondage to sin in his death on the cross. There are some fantastic sermons online under the Heading of New Exodus.

Comments are closed.