HOW MAJESTIC IS YOUR NAME!

PSALM 8

I don’t know about you but I do not have any problem thanking God for his blessings of creation, forgiveness, salvation and for all the blessings of this life, but I find it hard to express PRAISE OF THIS GREAT CREATOR, PROVIDER and GRACE GIVER.  However today’s psalm does it for me!

‘Lord, our Lord how majestic is your name in all your earth.’

Do you too marvel that the awesome nature of creation is ‘ the work of your fingers!’  V3

In his commentary, John Goldengay comments that Psalm 8 is the FIRST praise song but that it is untypical.  ‘ there is neither an invitation to praise nor reasons for praise.’   It just does it!

Verses 1&2 directly praise God (Yhwh) as mighty creator

V3&4 wonder that God would be involved with mere human beings

V5-9 marvel that God would bestow honour on humans.

The New Testament uses Psalm 8 to show aspects of Jesus – (1Corinthians 15:27 and Hebrews 2:6-8)

This psalm reminds us that ‘what God intended  humanity to be, God still intends humanity to be’ (Goldengay Psalms p161). When we look at the wonder of the creation we can be overwhelmed by our own insignificance, but God intends us to look at his continuing earthly creation plan in which we have a significant role – to overcome evil and to do good.

Today we could begin to take this Psalm into our lives in a new way!

Peter and Elizabeth 

 

4 thoughts on “HOW MAJESTIC IS YOUR NAME!

  1. Thanks Peter and Elizabeth. The more I learn about the universe the more I feel overwhelmed by the size and complexity of God’s creation and the more thankful I am that God loves me – so small and lowly.

    Planet Earth is a mere speck in one galaxy of millions. God is so big. Yet God is involved in the smallest things – even the hairs on our head are numbered. (Luke 12:7) God knows every ant and worm! There are 7 billion people in the world but God can travel with me personally – with me who is so insignificant and small in this world! How mind-bending and fantastic is that!

    But I am not insignificant to God. I am very important to him. He loves me and wants the best for me. With our limited human understanding, the nature of God is incomprehensible but wonderful. ‘Lord, our Lord how majestic is your name in all your earth.’

    Lindy Pegler

  2. Thx Peter, Elizabeth and Lindy. Great reflections. Yes it is good to wonder at God’s handiwork. Like many through the ages including the psalmist we still stare up at the sky at night to look at the stars…..thousands of light years away! If you can, travel out far west and look up at the night sky…….amazing! In my work place the physicists play around with atomic and subatomic particles. Talk about the macro and the micro of creation. It does my head in!……..they of course don’t see it that way unfortunately.And then we are called children of God who is our father who wants to be loved by us.

  3. Thanks to you all for your comments! It is a great reminder, as we get caught up in this busy world, to focus on our Creator and appreciate just who He is not just what He has done for us.

Comments are closed.