Who is prayer for?

Two Sunday’s ago I had a conversation with someone after church about prayer. He was explaining that he and a work mate were talking about how often you should ask God for something. Should you just ask him once, knowing that he heard you? Or should you be on your knees constantly pleading with God until an answer comes?

On the one hand the first option seems the right response because we know that we can’t manipulate God into a favourable response by nagging him. Yet, on the other hand we have passages like Luke 18:1-8

Then Jesus told his disciples a parable to show them that they should always pray and not give up.

Perhaps a better conversation to have with a work mate is: “Who is prayer for?” Does it benefit God or the one praying?

God knows our needs, even before we ask him. So why pray? Simply because prayer means we are relying on God. Prayer is an incredible act of faith – putting our hope in God and his goodness, and not in ourselves and our ability.

So I say, pray without ceasing. Because in never giving up, we are not looking for God to change His mind in our favour, but rather submitting ourselves to his will.

One thought on “Who is prayer for?

  1. Thank you Lachlan. I struggle with prayer – really struggle. It doesn’t come easily and there are always so many “other things” that need my attention. But I’ve learned to keep it practical. God hasn’t make us all to be spiritual giants only a few fit into that category. This can be a real trap to fall into if we are not careful as our Enemy would like nothing better than to accuse Christians of not praying enough. He doesn’t try that with me anymore, he just is looking for other things to accuse me of. Or becoming legalistic about it and just ticking prayer off our to-do list. I like Keith Greens song,” Make My Life A Prayer to You”. Its not uncommon to come out of a time of prayer but have an unchanged heart and you just keep doing life your own way. For me to pray without ceasing means that in everything I do I’m acknowledging God. This can only be done with the help of the Holy Spirit. A great little book called, Practicing the Presence of God, has been of great benefit to me.

Comments are closed.