Thankfulness

My family will tell you that I love “Praise Sandwiches”. Now I don’t mean some mayo between two bits of bread, but rather bookending our words of correction or rebuke with words of praise. Its about telling the truth in love.

Today I’ve decided on a new meal – a Thankfulness Toasty.

So many of the Psalms start with thankfulness to God for who He is and what he has done. It puts the rest of the Psalm in its right context, ensuring we don’t just go to God with the “can you do this for me please God”, but starts with “Thanks for what you’ve done”

Our reading today from Psalm 9 begins with:

I will give thanks to you, Lord, with all my heart;
    I will tell of all your wonderful deeds.
I will be glad and rejoice in you;
    I will sing the praises of your name, O Most High.

As everyone knows, the perfect toasty begins with a carefully prepared base. Get the base wrong and the topping just doesn’t sit right. My favourite base? A thick, hand cut slide of freshly baked multigrain bread toasted until crunchy on the surface, yet still moist in the middle. Then I can lay my favourite toppings on top.

Today I overheard a conversation. One person was bemoaning a certain aspect of their workplace, when the other responded: “would you like cheese with that whine?”

Perhaps I should have said – “can I have my cheese on a Thankfulness Toasty please?”

May our prayers, praises and songs to God always begin with thankfulness!

One thought on “Thankfulness

  1. We have so much to be thankful about but often take it all for granted. Thanks for the reminder today Lachlan, to express our thankfulness to God. Many good models in the psalms.

Comments are closed.