Feeling any fear?

Even with the rise in global terrorism, there is still not many fears that I carry in day to day life. To be sure, occasional health and family fears arise, though they are probably more on the anxiety scale than full blown fear.  What do you fear in life?

Todays Passages are Exodus 34 and Luke 21.

As I read them, the expression that comes to my mind is “fear of the Lord”.

In the Exodus passage the Holiness of God is on display. The Lord comes down in a cloud. He reveals himself both as compassionate and gracious, but also as the one whom can not let the guilty go unpunished.He declares his covenant with Moses, and commands obedience from the people. He is not a God to be messed with.

If that part of the story wasn’t enough, Moses radiant face displays clearly the glory of God. Moses needs a veil to cover his face.

In Luke 21, Jesus’ answer to the question of the destruction of the temple brings its own level of fear surrounding the coming of the Kingdom of God.

But it wasn’t so much those two stories where I saw the fear of the Lord. It was in the little account at the start of Luke 21 where a poor widow throws two copper coins into the temple treasury. It was all she had to live on.

Fear of the Lord is different to fear. Fear of the Lord recognises who he is and lives in awe of him. Such awe leads to radical obedience. That’s what the widow did.

As I said, there’s not much in life I need to fear. And that probably leads me to a less than healthy fear of the Lord also. Perhaps we need to be driven back to the Lord’s words to Moses:

The Lord, the Lord, the compassionate and gracious God, slow to anger, abounding in love and faithfulness, maintaining love to thousands, and forgiving wickedness, rebellion and sin.Yet he does not leave the guilty unpunished; he punishes the children and their children for the sin of the parents to the third and fourth generation. (Ex 34:6-7)

May our vision of him lead to a healthy and practical fear of the Lord.

2 thoughts on “Feeling any fear?

  1. Thx Ron, quite a lot to chew over this morning! Also i wonder how Moses felt after the Lord said to Moses,
    “Chisel out two stone tablets like the first ones, and I will write on them the words that were on the first tablets, which you broke.”
    I wonder if that was a slight reprimand or God was just stating fact.
    Being 40 days in the Glory of the Lord (and being sustained by Him too I think) made Moses glow….how amazing is that!

  2. Thanks Ron. What do I fear in life? Not much. God has already brought me through some very dark times. My fear is for my children who do not know Jesus. If I could buy their salvation I would sell everything I have to pay for it. But God doesn’t work like that. I must pray for my children and leave the timing to God – after all He wants no-one to perish (2 Peter 5:9) and Paul tells us to be ‘anxious for nothing.’ (Philippians 4:6-7) So my big ‘fear in life’ is for my children’s eternal lives. I just have to do the best I can and leave the rest to God.
    Lindy Pegler

Comments are closed.