Please Explain!

Todays readings are Job38-39 and Acts15:1-15

At the moment I am writing a job (no pun intended) ad for an engineer. I am putting together a role description and detailing essential and desirable criteria that applicants need to address. I’m looking for applicants to respond in a way that impresses me and eventually causes them to be the one selected for the position. Based on experience I anticipate the sort of things they will state in their applications……heard it all before.

Today Job will get a response from God he did not anticipate.

The Lord has responded to Job’s plea of 31:35

“let the Lord answer me”

It’s reasonable for Job to want to know why all this is happening to him.When bad or difficult stuff happens to us we too think or say:

“What have I done to deserve this”

Job of course is totally unaware of the Lords heavenly wager with Satan who contends that Job is only a good man who honours God because he has been blessed with an abundant life. Take that away and Job will curse God. Satan thinks he understands that no man can truly love the Lord.

So far there has been a lot of talk from Job and his friends and now it’s the Lords turn. These two chapters form a response that kind of pin Job to the wall. In ch40:2 it becomes clear that the Lord has been accused by Job.

I wouldn’t want to receive the words of 38:1-2 from the Lord:

“Who is this who darkens my counsel with words without knowledge? Brace yourself like a man; I will question you and you shall answer me.”

The Lord knows his response will be heavy to Job’s ears! Indeed he better brace himself.

He goes on to lay out vivid descriptions in word pictures of his creative power. I think the language is quite beautiful but I don’t think Job did. The Lord is questioning Job and strongly challenging his small understanding and limited viewpoint.

Job would shrink as the Lord questioned with:

“Were you there, Surely you know, surely you understand, Job, of course you can do this stuff I do??”

The Lord has sternly put Job in his place reminding him that he is not God and does not see or understand as He does. Tomorrow in Ch40 you’ll see that Job responds in a good way. Of course none of this answers Jobs real question: “Why is this happening to me” Why, why, why?

As we in times of trouble also inquire before the Lord….and we will!… let’s do so with an awareness of who we are and who the Lord is.

Peace to you as you do.

2 thoughts on “Please Explain!

  1. Thanks Al. We are such a I, me, my people. It’s all about me – although lots tell me it isn’t! As we studied in Life Group last night, we have to rely on the Holy Spirit to guide our thoughts and then our actions in times of trouble. May we daily pray for his guidance and be filled with all his fruit (from our wise LG leader). The song below by Chris Tomlinson summarises some of this passage:

    From the highest of heights to the depths of the sea
    Creation’s revealing Your majesty
    From the colors of fall to the fragrance of spring
    Every creature unique in the song that it sings
    All exclaiming

    Indescribable, uncontainable,
    You placed the stars in the sky and You know them by name.
    You are amazing God
    All powerful, untameable,
    Awestruck we fall to our knees as we humbly proclaim
    You are amazing God

    Who has told every lightning bolt where it should go
    Or seen heavenly storehouses laden with snow
    Who imagined the sun and gives source to its light
    Yet conceals it to bring us the coolness of night
    None can fathom

  2. Thank you Al. I think Job was very fortunate to hear God speak. We too can long to hear Him but sometimes God seems silent. We must be reassured by scripture when we perceive that God is silent, because He has promised never to leave us or to forsake us – Hebrews13;5. Its important to press on and knowing in you spirit that when God seems silent He is still right there by our side.
    I think a great thing to aim for is when we ask God the,”Why’s”, that we can be at peace because we know that we serve a good God. We have no right to demand an answer from God. We can just find rest because we know Him (because we know Jesus) and He knows us personally. I think Job 13:15 sums it up for me.

    Even if He kills me, I will hope in Him.

Comments are closed.