Home Sick

When my daughter was seven years old we sold our old Nissan Patrol 4WD. It was a sad occasion for our whole family, as this car had been with us many years and we had travelled around Australia in it nearly twice. But our daughter became quite distressed as we waved farewell to the old girl. Amid the tears she sobbed: “that car has been my home for so long”. She was right. She had grown up in that car. It had been her one constant since moving from Sydney to Perth and then to Broome. Houses had come and gone but the old 4WD had always been there. We had journeyed some 200,000km in that car. By my calculation that means spending around 4,500 hours sitting in it!

Imagine sitting with God for that long?

He’d feel like our home. We’d miss him if we didn’t get to spend that time with him.

I’m looking forward to being with him forever

2 Corinthians 5:6-9

“We know that while we are at home in the body we are away from the Lord, for we walk by faith, not by sight. Yes, we are of good courage, and we would rather be away from the body and at home with the Lord. So whether we are at home or away, we make it our aim to please him.”

Please Lord, I want to go home.

One thought on “Home Sick

  1. Thank you Lachlan. Yes this is a deep yearning within the heart of every Christian. But we have to remember that God has us still here for a purpose. Who knows what person He has for us to meet today for an opportunity for a seed to be sown. That in the long run could be the very thing that saves them from eternal punishment and complete separation from any type of love? Sometimes I want to just throw up my hands and say to God, “Just take me now Ive had enough Im ready”. But then I get this gentle reminder from the Holy Spirit saying,” Remember its not about you”, then somehow He give me the grace to get thru another day.

    Psalm 139:16b

Comments are closed.