Psalm 25

Today’s reading is from Psalm 25 and how appropriate when this morning at church we will hear the word preached on that well known passage in Micah 6 “To act justly and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God”.

Psalm 25 is David wrestling with this very thing. A desire for God to pave his path and to be shown what the Lord’s ways are. A desire to be guided in truth, goodness and a right way to live. Like in Micah we know what is good and upright because the Lord himself is good and upright. The Lord’s example is one of justice, mercy and humility so it’s no surprise these are the things David desires as well.

What does it mean to walk humbly with God? It’s more than just acting in humility. As we see here the humility is towards God – an acknowledgement of a need for instruction, correction, forgiveness, teaching, direction etc. by the God who created us. He is loving and faithful and is a firm foundation for us to put our trust in.

I probably don’t say to God enough “In you, Lord my God, I put my trust”. I hope my actions and decisions reflect my trust being in him…. but perhaps we need to say that to God more often in prayer. I will begin my prayers this week with the statement “In you, Lord my God, I put my trust”. The outflowing of this I hope will be an increased desire to be shaped by the God I trust and a closer humble walk with him.

