Never Despair.

Psalm 27 is a confident prayer of David, for God to deliver him from those who are conspiring against him. David is totally reliant on the Lord – see verses 1-3. They buzz with confidence.

These words conclude with verses 13 and 14…”I am still confident of this: I will see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living. Wait for the Lord; be strong and take heart and wait for the Lord”

The translation of the New American Standard Bible makes the thoughts of verse 13 even clearer and stronger – “I would have despaired unless I had believed that I would see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living.”

Despair. Are you familiar with that emotion?

Despair can lead us to all sorts of destructive behaviours. We can become so anxious to see our desires fulfilled that we turn to options that oppose God’s best for us.

It is possible the we may even convince ourselves that God has abandoned us.

Of course, that is untrue. God will come to us and help us – in His timing.

That is why we need to protect ourselves from despair while we are waiting for him to work – so that we do not miss his perfect will for us.

What do we do while we are waiting on God to act in our lives?

Read and meditate on his Word, on his promises (the hundreds and hundreds of them), and on the occasions that God has worked in your life and rescued you previously. That makes it far easier to hold on to your hope.

Then we need to wait expectantly for God’s goodness – no matter how long it takes, because that is the prefect position to be in to receive the very best from the hand of God.

I remember, one Parish that I ministered in, I had to wait for five years before any one became a Christian – five years – that could have led to despair, but I knew God had his hand on me, and on the Parish that he had called me to. I could have despaired. In the end God came through mightily.

The final verse of Psalm 27….”Wait for the Lord, be of good courage, and He shall strengthen you, again I say….wait.”

Have a great Lord’s Day,

Peter Clark.

2 thoughts on “Never Despair.

  1. Thank you Peter. I find that in the Christian walk over and over again we are reminded of many of the same things. This is one of them. Our hope in God is the anchor of the soul. It keeps us steadfast when life doesn’t make any sense. This is why we need Gods Word stored up in our hearts. For those of us who have short memories I recommend having a Book of Rememberance where when we’ve seen God at work we can write it down for those times we find ourselves in the valleys. The Israelites were grumbling and murmuring just days out of being rescued from the Egyptians after all they saw God do they focused on everything else except Gods faithfulness. We can fall into the same mentality if we are not careful. We should be different from the world and ask God for opportunities to share the hope that we have in this broken world because of the finished work of Jesus Christ.

  2. Thanks Peter. A timely reminder for me that that I have to fit into God’s time frame. Not always easy to be patient, especially as I see the years running out, but remembering at all times, ‘The Lord is my light and my salvation, whom shall I fear? The Lord is the strength of my life of whom shall I be afraid.’ (Not sure what version that it is as I learned it many years ago.) Thanks Peter for your personal insight about your church where no one became a Christian for 5 years. A reminder that we must not despair but always live out our hope in Jesus.

    Lindy P

Comments are closed.