John 14:15

2 Kings 2:19-25, John 14:15-31


 John 14:15  (New International Version)

 15 ‘If you love me, keep my commands.


Jesus is speaking to his disciples: ‘If you love me, you will keep my commands’ (John 14:15). He says the same thing in reverse: ‘Whoever has my commands and keeps them is the one who loves me’ (John 14:21). He extends the invitation to everyone: ‘Anyone who loves me will obey my teaching’ (John 14:23). He gives the negative version: ‘Anyone who does not love me will not obey my teaching’ (John 14:24). Clearly, there is a connection between loving Jesus and obeying Jesus.

A carrot in front of a donkey will coax it forward and a stick behind the donkey has the same effect. Motivation is often described in these terms, carrot or stick. We do things to receive a reward or to avoid a punishment. But not when it comes to obeying Jesus. The motivation is not to receive a reward (perhaps go to heaven?) or to avoid a punishment (hell?). The motivation is not what our action or inaction might result in, good or bad. Rather, our motivation is a consequence of our relationship to Jesus. We obey because we love him.  And we love because he first loved us.

Do you love Jesus? Keep his commands!

One thought on “John 14:15

Comments are closed.