Tough World, Tender God.

There are many gems in Psalm 31. “In you, O Lord, I have taken refuge…”(v.1);”I will be glad and rejoice in your love, for you saw my affliction..”(v.7); “My times are in your hands…”(v.15); “How great is your goodness, which you have stored up for those who fear you…” (v.19); “In the shelter of your presence you hide them from the intrigues of men; in your dwelling you keep them safe from accusing tongues” (v.20).

These are just the ones I have highlighted in my Bible over the years.

I would like to focus on verses 7-8 today, “You have seen my troubles, and you care about the anguish of my soul. You have not handed me over to my enemies but have set me in a safe place”. The NIV reads, “you have set my feet in a spacious place”.

I love that thought of being taken to a spacious place.

Trouble comes in many forms and finds everyone eventually. Some people feel like outcasts and have real trouble fitting in. Others face financial, physical, or relationship problems that means they walk in constant chaos. The world offers no solutions or mercy. On the contrary, people must constantly beware of this who would take advantage of them in their weakness.

Unfortunately, instead of turning to God, people question the goodness of God and ask why he allows so much suffering. The reason is of course as to why there is so much misery and turmoil is that sin is a painful reality in the world. It is a fallen world – not as God desires it.

God longs to show us his loving care, but we need to stop clinging to the world and all it has to offer, and we have to stop blaming him for all our hardships.

Rather, we need to embrace God, be turning to him and asking him to reveal himself to us, and to free us from our hurt.

The last verse has the last word for us…”Be strong, all who wait with hope for the Lord, and let your heart be courageous.”

 

Have a great Lord’s Day,

 

Peter Clark.

