Contentment.

Please read our passages for today – 1 Timothy 6:2b – 10 and Isaiah 30.

I will be focussing on the Timothy passage.

When Jesus taught His disciples to pray, “Give us this day our daily bread,” He didn’t get it wrong. Most of us would probably be more comfortable if he had of prayed that we might have 10 years worth of bread – perhaps tucked away in stocks and/or bonds. But if it was like this I probably would not have the same motivation to rely on God for each day.

What God wants for me is to cultivate an attitude of contentment with what I have now. Having “food and clothing”, Paul said, “we will be content with that.” God provides the necessities – but do we really need the luxuries?

How come? Well, when we die, nothing material that we have worked for and collected will go with us. But what is essentially “me” – all that I am as an individual, what I am as a person or will become, is carried on into eternity. When it comes down to it – nothing else really matters. These few short years that we have on this planet are to prepare us for eternity.

All of us who are reading this blog are more than likely rich by the world’s standards. (that is we have running water into our homes – or even that we have a home!) We have finances and our life somewhat planned out. That means we miss out on the blessing of trusting God for our daily bread. That being the case, we really have to work very hard at keeping our riches in place and not letting them take over our lives, remembering that every material possession will be left behind.

This thought leads us on to verses 9 and 10, “the love of money is a root of all kinds of evil”. The common misquote of this verse says, “Money is the root of all evil”. This is a double misunderstanding. Money isn’t bad in itself, and having money doesn’t automatically make you a bad person. And, every evil does not find its roots in money. There is an enormous blessing by Christians in giving their money to help others.

What Paul warned against is a love for money. That passion for wealth can motivate a person to any and every sort of evil deed. The love for money can lead a person to lie, to defraud others, to betray friends, to steal, cheat, slander,to murder. A person whose goal is to get rich is sure to be betrayed by that passion.

My passage ends at verse 10, but can I quote verse 11, “Flee from all this”. In other words don’t get caught up by the love of money.

 

Have a great day,

 

Peter Clark.

One thought on “Contentment.

  1. Thank you Peter. I’m reminded that Paul tells us in Philippians 4:12 that contentment is a learned character. It just doesn’t fall from Heaven and we receive it. Its a bit like patience. When we learn to be patient God will put us in various situations to develop patience it doesn’t just “happen”. I used to love money and I knew that when I became a Christian money could easily come in between my loving God with all my heart, soul, mind and strength. Within weeks of becoming a believer I knew that I had to deal with the ‘money” god in my life. I knew that if i didn’t deal swiftly with this at the early stage of my walk it would be something that would have a hold on me. And Jesus died to set me free. So I gave it all away!!! It wasn’t very much but it was all that I had that was mine, in my own private bank account. I gave it to the church i attended and was free. And since then God has never left me worried about having enough. There is a great cartoon of a person getting baptized in a river but he is holding his wallet high above his head. He goes under but his money doesn’t!!!

Comments are closed.