Thanks Geoff.

Read Mark 14:1-11

There are some sermons that stick with you for life. I remember one Sunday when Geoff spoke on Mark 14:1-11. I must’ve been 17.

I remember him telling the story of a man who was deeply frustrated with the way others worshiped. This frustration grew over time until one night he’d had enough. He became so frustrated by the way others worshiped, it led him to a dark place. It led him to hate someone who had shown him nothing but kindness. Who had done nothing but serve him. He was talking about Judas. The act of worship was the way the woman came and poured perfume on his head.

I remember those words cutting like knives. I reflected on how something that seemed so innocent to begin with, discontentment, mild frustration, led to me actually disliking people who had shown me nothing but kindness. Who had done nothing but seek to serve me. This parallel has stayed with me and continues to challenge and humble me as I reflect on my own attitude.

This passage also makes me wonder how, if I was there, I would have responded? I think sadly I would’ve been no different from the disciples. Their pragmatic cry resonates with me. ‘It could have been sold for more than a years wages and given to the poor!’ I wonder if that’s really what they would have done. I wonder if that’s really what I would have done.

My prayer is that we would continue to reflect on Geoff’s insight and assess our attitudes towards the way others worship our Lord,

“Search me, God, and know my heart;
    test me and know my anxious thoughts.
See if there is any offensive way in me,
    and lead me in the way everlasting.”

Psalm 139:23-24

Peter Lenehan

2 thoughts on “Thanks Geoff.

  1. Thank you Peter. Always enjoy your posts. True worship is powerful. And only the individual knows in their heart if they have really worshipped or not. When we worship in Spirit and in truth we are not concerned with what others may think. Because its in truth our hearts are at peace. Its none of my business to think about what others may think of how i (we) worship. Mary knew this. Mary’s heart was devoted to her Lord. Judas, (who John12;4,5 is singled out) who had spent three years with Jesus witnessing the many miracles and even doing them as part of his role, but his heart was never changed. Money was his god – funny how Jesus made him to be the treasurer!! We too can sitting church week after week. Be involved in many Church ministries but have never had our hearts changed by Jesus. When that decision is made in our mind and heart to follow Christ, He starts with our heart. He then gives us His Spirit. Change happens from the inside out. That moment, we are born again and God will work with a brand new individual. May we be bold like Mary and not be concerned with what others may or may not be thinking about how we are led to worship our Lord. Extravagant worship is all He deserves. Eyes off self – and onto the Saviour.

Comments are closed.