Boldly tell the story …

Today’s Readings: Deuteronomy 3:21 – 4:40 & Mark 14:12-31

A couple of weeks ago we had missionaries we support as a church, currently serving oversees, come and share about what God is doing in the nation they are serving in.

One of the powerful stories they shared was of illiterate men in work camps coming to faith, who as they were then discipled, were taught to learn and then share the stories of Jesus. A ripple affect started of lives transformed – disciples making disciples – as each man became passionate about sharing his faith … yes, through living this out as a changed person and by boldly sharing his personal testimony, but more so, through then re-telling the stories of scripture he had learnt.

I was reminded of this ‘story’ as we’ve started into the book of Deuteronomy.

As Moses stands before the people of God on the brink of finally going in to take possession of the promised land, he does so knowing he will not be going with them BUT with great assurance that God will continue to do so!

He is now an old man of about 120 years, but he still speaks with great authority and conviction – still very much the leader … but not for much longer. It’s time to hand this role over, but not before telling the story for the last time, of God’s plan and purpose for his people.

Moses tells them the stories to remind them of the things that had taken place, but as the chapters unfold, we see that the stories are framed to remind them of God’s character; who he is and why and HOW they are NOT to forget – you won’t forget and they won’t forget if you keep telling the stories.

‘Only be careful and watch yourselves closely so that you do not forget the things your eyes have seen or let them slip from your heart as long as you live. Teach them to your children and to their children after them.’ vs4:9

‘Remember ….. to hear my words so that they may learn to revere me as long as they live in the land and may teach them to their children.’  Vs 4:10

‘You were shown these things so that you might know that the Lord is God; besides him there is no other.’  Vs 4:35

Acknowledge and take to heart this day that the Lord is God in heaven and above and on the earth below. There is no other.’ Vs 4:39

We as Australians are good at storytelling. It’s easy to sit around the table and share what’s unfolded that day. It’s easy to share with others in graphic detail, sites seen and people met on that memorable holiday. It does us good to sit with friends and family and recall and share about past experiences, often peppered with ‘Remember when …… ‘

And yes, children are also really good at recalling and telling all the details about their own experiences … even the ‘he said / she said / I said ….’

And even the very young can recall things they heard … often quoted verbatim and not always at the most appropriate time!

Yes, storytelling is alive and well BUT, I’m now asking myself, am I telling the important stories? This is what I was reminded of and challenged with from the missionaries who visited.

Peter too reminds us to, ‘Always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who ask you to give the reason for the hope that you have.’  1 Peter 3:15

As Christmas approaches it’s only natural that many conversations turn to the practicalities of the holiday season. I now have a choice. Do I do same old same old OR will I stop and deliberately take time to remember and practice telling the stories I know that can have the greatest impact?

Join me in prayer for a greater boldness and clarity in the stories we might share that will have a lasting impact on the generations to come; for me, on my children and my children’s children.

Gracious and loving Father, thank you for the record of your stories for us in Scripture. Help me to read and learn afresh those that I can easily share with my friends and family, woven into my own stories of your grace at work in me. As I pray for opportunities, help me to speak openly and with confidence – with gentleness and respect – about who you are and the way you have worked in my life. And may any words I speak be reflected in the unspoken words of how I live and the decisions I make. In the precious name of Jesus, Amen.

KD

1 thought on “Boldly tell the story …

  1. Thank you Karen. I was reminded of a hymn from long ago but the words are just as true today.

    I Love to Tell the Story
    I love to tell the story of unseen things above, Of Jesus and His glory, of Jesus and His love…………….
    🎶🎶🎶🎶🎶🎶🎶🎶🎶🎶🎶🎶🎶🎶🎶🎶

Comments are closed.