1 John 5:6

Deuteronomy 23, 1 John 5:1-12


 1 John 5:6 (New International Version)

6  This is the one who came by water and blood —Jesus Christ.


Blood, it is said, is thicker than water. This is usually taken to mean that family ties, blood ties, transcend any other relationships. Yet some contend that this proverb has completely reversed from its original meaning. They argue that covenant relationships, sealed in blood, transcend family ties, alluded to in the proverb via amniotic fluid, womb water.

However that may be, believers in Christ are children of God (verse 1). They are born into a spiritual family.  Consequently, they love their spiritual siblings and love and respect their mutual Father (verses 1-3). They overcome the world (verse 4), they who believe in Christ (verse 5).

And Christ came by water and blood (verse 6). Jesus’ ministry was bracketed by baptism (by John in the Jordon) and crucifixion (when blood and water came from Jesus’ spear-pierced side). Today on January 2, in our calendar between remembering at Christmas Jesus’ birth and remembering at Easter Jesus’ death, we might pause to consider the whole sweep of Jesus’ life – coming, teaching, healing, suffering, dying, rising, ascending.

And as we pause we might think of our own baptism and the new birth the water of baptism points to and we might think of the communion cup and the blood shed for us and the new covenant that blood inaugurates.

One thought on “1 John 5:6

  1. Thank you Helen and Roger. V3 says that if we love God we are to keep His commandments and that His commandments are not burdensome. Thinking back to my baptism 18 years ago I’m reminded that it was the first thing that I obeyed after coming to faith. The Holy Spirit made it very clear to me that now that I was a Christian I was to be baptised as my first act of obedience to Jesus teaching. My husband wouldn’t come as he thought Id gone nuts now that I was a Christian. But I still knew that this was something that I HAD TO DO. Even though we know that Baptism doesn’t save you its an important part of the believers life, I know that as that first act of obedience its been a delight to seek to obey the teachings of Jesus as He imparts the Grace to do so. Why then have I met so many who are unwilling to be baptised? Have hearts become proud and hard? May the Spirit move to convict Gods people to be willing to obey the command to be baptised into the name of the Father , Son and Holy Spirit.

    PS. I am flying to Kenya and Zanzibar tomorrow (DV) with my husband and 15yr daughter and would really appreciate your prayers for travelling mercies.

Comments are closed.