Trust and Obey

For today we’re in Deut 28Titus 1:10-16

Thank you Peter and Elizabeth Smart for pre-empting and foreshadowing part of the Deuteronomy passage for me the other day. I’m glad when I read it I very much landed in the same place. Obedience…

God is interested in our obedience to his commands. He wants to bless us for keeping his commandments. Without meaning to oversimplify the passage essentially if we are obedient we can expect God’s blessing and good stuff to happen. If we’re disobedient we should expect God’s curse and not good stuff to happen. In fact it’s a humbling reminder of God’s control over all things and circumstances and our need to be honouring him in all things.

In fact the Titus verse echoes parts the sentiment of the Deuteronomy 28 finishing in verse 16 with “They are detestable, disobedient, unfit for any good work.” The context here is this is a letter to Titus from Paul with Paul addressing the false teachers in the church. Paul doesn’t have many nice things to say about these false teachers declaring they “must be silenced, since they are upsetting whole families by teaching for shameful gain what they ought not to teach”. It’s clear Paul didn’t have a lot of time for disobedience either.

Obedience to God’s commands can be challenging. When I became a believer in my teenage years I had no trouble accepting Jesus as my Saviour. I knew I needed salvation. I knew I was a sinner. I never really struggled with that part of it. But it is only part of it. It took me a lot longer to allow God to be my Lord. And when I did it was only often Lord of some things in my life not it all. Gradually, as control is relinquished and through submission to God’s will, I try to trust and obey in all things. As mentioned, it can be challenging. However do I need to embrace Jesus as my Saviour AND Lord every day.

One thought on “Trust and Obey

  1. Thanks for your thoughts today Greg. Yes it is easy to realise (thank you Holy spirit) that we need Christ for salvation……but then comes the obedience – the hard bit and for me at least a lifelong struggle….sometimes good, sometimes not. I guess that’s where grace continues and also the risk of cheapening that forgiveness. It does my head in sometimes. No wonder Paul said of himself ” what a wretched man I am”. Blessings.

Comments are closed.