Questions about Hebrews…

Read Proverbs 9, Heb 11:17-12:3

I think a passage like Hebrews 11 shows me just how little understand about God. I just came up with so many questions as I read it! Here’s two of them and some very tentative thoughts.

What does it mean that ‘by faith Abel still speaks, even though he is dead?’

I wonder if what he means is that Abel’s life, his faithfulness to God and desire to please him still speaks to us today?

I’m not really sure about this though, because in all honesty, Abel’s story really only takes up a few verses. While it does ‘speak’ in the sense that his story is part of the word of God and has abiding relevance for our lives, Abel himself doesn’t utter a word! Not to mention, he’s not exactly the first person I think of when I think of martyrs or someone to draw inspiration from? This is probably overthinking it though, and I would be keen to hear what people think the writer of the Hebrews means.

Moses is said to have ‘regarded disgrace for the sake of Christ as of greater value than the treasures of Egypt’. How though, when Christ had not yet been revealed, could he have regarded disgrace for him as worth it?

Not sure. But somehow Moses’ persecutions for God’s sake, and his peoples, was really for Christ. Reflecting on this has added more depth to the parable of the sheep and the goats for me (Matt 25).

When Jesus says to those on his right “Come, you who are blessed by my Father take your inheritance, the kingdom prepared for you since the creation of the world.” And they reply “Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink?” There will literally be people there, like Moses, who never met, knew or heard of Jesus from OT times! I often think of that parable in post-Christ terms, but it certainly adds a new dimension to it for me thinking of those who lived, died and suffered for his sake before they even were aware of the incredible promises, hope and life he brings.

Feeling confused about Abel, thankful for living this side of the Cross, and encouraged and ashamed by the witness of those faithful men and women pre-Christ.

Peter L

 

 

2 thoughts on “Questions about Hebrews…

  1. Hey Pete thanks for your thoughts and comments……yes a difficult passage. Vaguely related….. I met a Jewish Christian once who explained that the word “inheritance” means a lot more to someone who comes from a Jewish faith background as it was so much a part of God’s promise in Israels history. We think of it as what we have been promised in Christ….the culmination of our salvation….and of course it is. For this Jewish guy though “inheritance” is the culmination of something that started with Moses….even Abraham. I always feel Hebrews is one of those books where the words are so loaded with Jewish context and understanding.

  2. Thank you Peter. I think that God was impressed with Abel’s attitude of his heart when he offered the sacrifice.
    I think also that when we take a look at the list of all those who were listed none of them had it all together. They were all imperfect. God doesn’t use perfect people to get His work done. This give me great comfort. I also don’t need to compare myself with others. I can ask God to give me a greater measure of faith and He will most likely put me into situations where I will be given a chance to use my faith.

    Heb 12 v12 should be a desire of every believers heart. To be serious about dealing with sin in our lives. That one particular sin that trips us up time and time again. May we give the Holy Spirit permission to search our hearts and see if there is offensive to God and deal with it at the Cross of Christ. We won’t be successful if we are willing to put up with sin. By saying,”Well thats just how I am,’ is a copout for the believer. Because in Christ we are a new creation the old has gone the new has come!!!

Comments are closed.