Never alone

Prov 11:16-31.  Heb 13:1-6.

We were made for relationship with God.That is why we were created.Being in that relationship is the only way our souls will be satisfied.We are fulfilled, our purpose realized as we worship God as He deserves; with thanks, reverence and awe (Heb 12 v 28).

Recognizing His presence, the reality of that relationship, forms part of the conclusion to Hebrews. “Never will I leave you, never will I forsake you.”(v 5)

Never. Not when you fail. Not when your faith is weak. Not when life’s circumstances leave you feeling anxious, alone or beaten. Never. We are encouraged to trust in Him; His provision, presence and character, and so satisfy our souls. Today we will all seek satisfaction. Our souls  search for contentment. The question is, Where will you look for it? As God’s child you have God – his presence, power, love and help.

We are weak – we fear (v 6), we forget  who we are, our identity as His. His – ransomed by Jesus – saved and safe by His work and grace. We seek satisfaction in ourselves, created things, money –  traps which never satisfy, having to slavishly return time and again to get more, never  content.

Trust in your Savior. He will not forsake you. He is the final definition of love, wisdom, mercy and power. He wants to free us from what is not true. He is our soul’s rest.

We are given a capacity to love. This should not be directed to money (v 5), which never satisfies, but to other souls. To each other  (v 4), strangers (v 2), prisoners, the mistreated and our marriage partner (v 4). Love is God’s essence, his signature, his character.

Proverbs echoes this; the importance of being kind (v 16), generous (v 25), not trusting in riches (v 28), the importance of the soul (v 30).

The encouragement to love is not a deadening law, but life-giving grace. Trust Him. Living this day with  awareness that He is with you, and will never leave you is your right as His child. It will help you  take on those challenges to your faith that will  come, possibly today.

As you pray in this day rest in the presence and power of your heavenly Father.

3 thoughts on “Never alone

  1. Thank you Phil. A great reminder. I like my Amplified Bibles translation. v5 says, ” I will not in any way fail you, nor give you up, nor leave you without support. I WILL NOT, I WILL NOT, I WILL NOT.”
    Three times God says that He won’t turn His back on those who are His. I think God is trying to make a point!! May we be given the grace to take Him at His word.

    When I’ve lost my job – God is with me
    When my marriage falls apart – God is with me
    When my kids go off the rails – God is with me.
    When I’ve been diagonsed with a terminal disease – God is with me.
    When I feel like I just can’t go on – God is with me.

    Seeing that God cannot tell a lie, this brings great comfort to the believer!!

  2. Yes Thx Phil and Connie. This is just great news and something that I feel sometimes we and our denomination just does not celebrate enough! God is for us not against us. We seem to spend so much time reflecting on our sin (as we should) but in my view no where enough time celebrating who we are in Christ. Our Father is committed to us, cheers us on, picks us up and wants us to finish this race well. How good is He!

    • Balance is the key. If I become too focused on my sin I’ll be miserable or if grace has become cheap i.e. I’m forgiven so I can do what I want (this is a lie from an unchanged heart) then I’ll be unbalanced. I need to be aware of my sin because that will increase my love for my Saviour and keep me humble. I also need an accurate understanding that when God looks upon me (us) He sees us as perfect!!

      If God had a refrigerator, your picture would be on it. If He had a wallet, your photo would be in it. He sends you flowers every spring and a sunrise every morning….. Face it friend. He is crazy about you! – Max Lucado

      May the Holy Spirit minister to our heart where we need correction in our thinking.

Comments are closed.