Trust in You

Our readings today are Proverbs 16:1-17 and James 5:1-6

Our Proverb today is beautifully bookended by these verses:

We can make our own plans,
but the Lord gives the right answer.
(v1)

The path of the virtuous leads away from evil;
whoever follows that path is safe.
(v17)

As I read through this proverb, I was reminded of the words of the song “Trust in You”.
In particular these lines:

When you don’t move the mountains
I’m needing you to move
When you don’t part the waters
I wish I could walk through
When you don’t give the answers
As I cry out to you
I will trust, I will trust, I will trust in you

Who has not felt this way as we make our plans for our lives and pray earnestly for the Lord’s support?

What I find most reassuring are these words:

Truth is you know what tomorrow brings
There’s not a day ahead you have not seen

The proverb reminds us that as we follow His path, we are safe. He knows the way we need to go – although we may feel we are stumbling in the dark!

The ever practical James warns the “rich” about investing themselves in their wealth. The corruption that follows will lead them away from the virtuous path described in our proverb.

How easily could this rich person be you and me as well live another day in our Australian paradise?

I pray that we will look ahead humbly trusting the Lord for the next day and for ways we might wisely bless others with our riches.

One thought on “Trust in You

  1. Thanks Andrew, I’m glad our Almighty God knows what tomorrow and the years ahead bring. Mostly today is plenty to live in and even then I can only do that by His loving grace. Glenn

Comments are closed.