I Will Keep My Eyes Always on The Lord

Good morning FDReaders. This post is for Monday 8 May. I’m posting from London so apologies if it arrives on the wrong day.

As we travel around the United Kingdom, we are feeling very blessed, in so many ways. To have the health, and the means, to be able to explore this beautiful part of God’s creation are just two enormous blessings.

As we visit many beautiful Christian monuments – towering ceilings engraved so intricately on enormous stone blocks, brightly coloured windows soaring above the walkway, painted or covered in mosaic and depicting biblical scenes – our gaze continually is drawn upwards, as was the intention of the builder. Upwards towards God, the centre of their belief and all their community, creating awe, humbling the on-looker, reminding of God’s might and supremacy.

David uses words to create this same focus on God, the centre of his devotion. His confidence in his relationship with his Lord is a great blessing to him. His expressions of devotion to this same God of ours are lovely to read.
Keep me safe, my God,
for in you I take refuge.
I say to the Lord, “You are my Lord;
apart from you I have no good thing.”

He is confident God will provide his every need. He doesn’t need a beautiful building to be reminded of this.
Lord, you alone are my portion and my cup;
you make my lot secure.

I like verse 7 The boundary lines have fallen for me in pleasant places;
surely I have a delightful inheritance.
That sounds like a great promise. How confident are we that we have a delightful inheritance to look forward to while living inside these boundary lines, in pleasant places!

Verses 8-11 are quoted by Peter in Acts 2:25-31. We’ll leave you to read Peter’s interpretation of these last verses from today’s psalm.

Acts 2:29-36 “Fellow Israelites, I can tell you confidently that the patriarch David died and was buried, and his tomb is here to this day. But he was a prophet and knew that God had promised him on oath that he would place one of his descendants on his throne. Seeing what was to come, he spoke of the resurrection of the Messiah, that he was not abandoned to the realm of the dead, nor did his body see decay. God has raised this Jesus to life, and we are all witnesses of it. Exalted to the right hand of God, he has received from the Father the promised Holy Spirit and has poured out what you now see and hear. For David did not ascend to heaven, and yet he said, “‘The Lord said to my Lord: “Sit at my right hand until I make your enemies a footstool for your feet.”’ “Therefore let all Israel be assured of this: God has made this Jesus, whom you crucified, both Lord and Messiah.”

May we all continue to look forward to Jesus’ face, keeping our eyes fixed on Him and our minds and words thankful and rejoicing in all that He has done for us.

One thought on “I Will Keep My Eyes Always on The Lord

  1. Great to be reminded of so many people in a different time and place who read the same Bible and worshiped the same God. Thanks Iris.

Comments are closed.