Don’t Turn Aside from the Lord

Don’t Turn Aside from the Lord

1 Samuel 12

The appointment of a king was in some sense an expression of a lack of appreciation that God himself was their King. However, God endorsed the appointment but warned, through Samuel, that they should not turn aside from the Lord but serve him with their whole heart.

Whatever the situations may be in which we find ourselves, even though they may not be ideal, our first duty is to be faithful to God. An older author wrote: “in the ancient world a king kept a register of his citizens. If a man committed a crime against the state, or when he died, his name was erased from the book of citizens. To have one’s name written in the book of life is to be numbered amongst the faithful citizens of the Kingdom of God; it is to be included with those who belong to God. Jesus will confess their names before His Father and the angels.”

The Church in Philadelphia – Little Strength but Faithfully Obedient

Revelation 3:7-13

In a city with a significant Jewish population but a relatively small church where was God and his purposes for the world to be found? One has written, “the unbelieving synagogue will realize that Jesus, their own Messiah, has loved this little group that believes in him”. These are the ones who will bear the new name. They are to hold fast to what they have so that no one can take away their crown.

Note the personal interaction the Lord Jesus has with this church. “I know your works”, “I have set before you and open door”, “I will give you those who belong to the synagogue of Satan”, “I will make them come and kneel before your feet”, “I have loved you”, “I will keep you safe”, “I am coming quickly”, “I will make him who overcomes a pillar in the temple of my God”, “I will write upon him the name of my God, and the name of the city of my God … and my new name”.

Truly, let him who has ears, hear.

