A generous response, renewed hope

Today’s FDR is 2 Chronicles 31:2-21 and Matthew 9:27-38.

In our our Old Testament reading today we see a bright and prosperous time for Israel. They are led by Hezekiah who appears to be an anomaly  in a line of kings who regularly turn their backs on God. We are told that Hezekiah ‘did what was good and right and faithful before the Lord his God’ (v20). He sought God with all his heart. We also see that like their king, the people have turned their hearts to God and respond with generosity… to the point of overflowing.

As I read this I am encouraged and challenged that as my heart  turns and seeks God, one of the practical outworkings is generosity – in time, money and effort – joyful generosity! How I long to give of what I have more generously. I will pray therefore, not that I would be more generous but that I would have my heart turned more to and captivated by God!

In our gospel reading, the compassion of Jesus is displayed in the healing of two blind men and casting out of a demon in a third. I am struck straight away by the response of the blind men – Jesus ‘sternly’ warns them not to tell anyone about their miraculous healing and their response…. we’ve got to tell everybody! I can only imagine what it must have been like for them to have their eyes opened, to have their lives changed forever and to want to respond by telling others. In the same situation, I don’t know that I would have been able to contain my joy either!

Jesus ministry so far is summed up in v35 – moving throughout the towns, healing the sick and proclaiming the gospel. We are told of his compassion for the crowds, harassed and helpless. He subsequently encourages, no, commands his disciples to pray for labourers for the harvest. I’m sure that during our world missions conference towards the end of July we will hear many stories of labourers and the harvest in Australia and around the world. As we have been commanded, may we continue to pray for those who have been sent and in so doing realise that we too are called to the harvest as co-labourers in proclaiming the gospel… and willingly follow Christ in that calling.

